Space required on the partition to "receive" a disk image backup?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by TKHgva, Mar 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TKHgva

TKHgva Registered Member

Hello,

I am a soon to be Acronis Disk Director Suite user (I'm waiting for the software to arrive by mail any day now). Same for True Image.

I was just trying to get myself prepared as to partitionning and backing up, but I couldn't find a specific answer to my questions/doubts by searching the net with key words. I hope someone can be kind enough to help me out here.

Disclaimer: I am a beginner with backup and disk management (partitionning). Patience please!

Question:

My system is Vista Home Premium Sp1, 32b. I have a Sony Vaio laptop with 140GB on the internal HD. I have in addition a portable Western Digital external HD with 500GB free space (using USB 2.0 for transfer).

I wish to use True Image to make a backup of the internal HD, rather the OS, onto the external HD. Therefore I wish to create a partition on the external HD to "receive" the disk image.

How large should the partition be on the external HD to receive a disc image from the internal HD?
    What I mean is I wish to backup my OS (Windows Vista) & Programs using a disk image and store those backups (images) on the external HD which is 500GB, so how large should I configure the partition on the external HD for this backup image to be stored in it? (I'm not even exactly sure what I must backup from the internal HD, but I'll ask in the appropriate forum for True Image).

Thanks a lot for any of your time.

Last edited: Mar 21, 2009
  2. K0LO

K0LO Registered Member

TKHgva: