SP2's "Data Execution Protection" and PG full

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by nicM, Sep 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Hi :) . Just a question, about the SP2's " Data Execution Protection" : as it looks quite like a PG's Dll injection protection 's substitute :rolleyes: , is there no risks of possible conflicts o_O , between this DEP and PG ? o_O ( full version, protecting programs, I mean ) .
    Well, it seems that this SP2's feature is NOT enabled by default, overall, but for people who will give a try with it, then there will be TWO programs, protecting / locking others programs in memory :eek: . ( Heh, don't know how efficient will be the SP2's one :rolleyes: :D ) . Then, as some programs must be excluded from DEP's monitoring, there will be something to do with PG, I guess o_O .
    So, if someone did -or does- run the both, it would be interresting to know how went things :)

    Cheers ;)
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am running them both and have had no problems yet ;)
     
  3. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Hi Bigc73542 :) . OK : reassuring !! :D . I thought that PG should be excluded from DEP's "monitored" programs list, but if you say that there is no problems with it, so nothing to worry about, then... :D . Thanks ;)
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I personally have had no problems with incompatability so hopefully you won't either ;)
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I have had no problems at all here either.
     
  6. Wayne - DiamondCS

    Wayne - DiamondCS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,533
    Location:
    Perth, Oz
    To answer the original question, there are no known conflicts.

    If anyone is interested in a detailed description of the DEP feature please see this page

    Also note the hardware requirements of DEP, as mentioned in that page:
     
  7. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Hi :D , and Thanks, Bigc73542, Puff-m-d, and Wayne . Right, only AMD Athlon64, and Opteron stand the "full" DEP protection, which is both "hardware" and "software" protection : but I saw that most of actual processors ( 32 bits, I mean ) stand the "software" protection , and this was the case I was worrying about :doubt: . ( by the way, Microsoft's explanation about this is NOT very limpid :( : looks like even the "software" protection is only for "next" processors, in their link ) .

    But Ok :D , so, if there are no repported problems ! :) Thanks !

    Bye
     
  8. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Well, I did install SP2 now, and can tell that "software" DEP IS enabled by default :eek: , even with 32 bits processors . It's set to monitor only "Windows programs and services", but we can add other programs.
    Heh, and NO problems/conflicts with PG neither, here :)

    Cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.