Sourcefire's Immunet

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by atomomega, Oct 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    Is anybody currently using it? After being bought by Sourcefire they seemed to quiet down a bit. Also I haven't seen them listed on the latest comparatives and tests...
    Their blog looks kind of deserted, with the last entry made back in May, and the support forum is gone!
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    try this link
    forum.immunet.com/

    otherwise it works well i think
     
  3. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    got it! thanks! I couldn't see a link to the forum on their webpage... o_O
     
  4. carat

    carat Guest

  5. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Immunet uses their in-house engines in the cloud and the Plus version also has Bitdefender. However both have since a while also the ClamAV engine(I think it's disabled by default) so if you enable the ClamAV engine in the free version then you'll have offline protection.
     
  6. carat

    carat Guest

    Thank you! Do I really have to register to use the community cloud?
     
  7. iTrendsNET

    iTrendsNET Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    No, you do not have to register to use the cloud.
     
  8. skokospa

    skokospa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Srbija
  9. carat

    carat Guest

    I'm still scanning with Immunet :D The scans are very, very slow and the computer is nearly unusable while scanning ... :doubt:

    Windows security center warning: No Antispyware installed! :ouch:

    Edit: Full scan finished after 2 hours and 20 minutes :(
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2012
  10. iTrendsNET

    iTrendsNET Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    @tpro - You must have a super fast computer! :cautious: I've got a new i5 with 8 GB memory and I just bailed 12.5 hours into a full scan of 171 GB of data. :eek: It did manage 3 false positives in that time and was unable to restore two of them from quarantine!

    Plenty of strange quirks with this one. I bought a 2 year license 1.5 years ago and most of the time I keep IP as far away as possible from any of my machines. Tried it twice again in the past 30 days and I see it is still stumbling along. Sad.
     
  11. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    Very sad indeed. I remember when it first went out before being acquired by Sourcefire. I tought it had a brilliant future at that time. But seems that they just left it apart.
     
  12. carat

    carat Guest

    No - I had only 25 GB of data :D But it has indeed the slowest scan I've ever seen ... :(
     
  13. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    How can i make the scan goes faster?
    Its way to slow 4,5hours was the scan busy and still not completed o_O
     
  14. carat

    carat Guest

    It's impossible - otherwise Immunet would be a nice free AV ;)
     
  15. russland

    russland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    United States
    I had a subsciption to Imunet Plus when v2 was released. It at that time I felt it was a decent program with a lot of potential. That being said, I must say that since the co. was purchased by Sourcefire the product has gone downhill quickly. V3 in my opinion is not worth wasting your time with, which is a shame because v2 was decent. I dropped my use of the program almost a year ago. I do check into the Imunet forum once in a while to check on the progress they have made, (which appears to be little or none). If your are in the market for a backup to your main AV there are much better programs available.
     
  16. iTrendsNET

    iTrendsNET Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Another AV vendor really has been ticking me off lately so I have been back with Immunet again for a few weeks. With the TETRA engine (Bitdefender defs) in Plus it still runs very light.

    It also did great in the December 2011 MRG Flash Test. (Sorry, just noticed that skokospa already posted that info above!) I noticed today in their forum they they have released a beta 1 for version 3.0.6. Here is the change log.

    What's new for 3.0.6 Beta 1:

    * Enhanced virus protection based on signed file information
    * Enhanced virus protection based on parent file execution
    * Performance enhancements based on enhanced caching of Immunet's databases
    * Fix for the ampersand (&) character breaking exclusions
    * Fix for very long exclusion paths sometimes crashing the Immunet interface
    * Fix when excluding an entire drive from scanning (e.g. "e:\")

    I installed the beta as an upgrade to my existing install this evening. That went will and so far no issues. Will report back if anyone is interested. I suppose I will take another shot at a full scan overnight this weekend.
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  17. carat

    carat Guest

    They should add the Bitdefender engine to the free version as well - ClamAV is unfortunately a poor AV and the scans are still too slow :( There are better alternatives out there ...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.