SOURCE HDD can't be recognized after cloning

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by chezzam, Feb 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chezzam

    chezzam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hi

    Had two 30gb HDDs with a fully setup slipstreamed XP Pro operating system with a heap of extras and wanted a clone as a backup for system setups.

    Used Acronis True Image and cloned the setup.

    However, after rebooting, the destination drive gave me an error on loading and the system couldn't find my source drive [yeah, yeah, I know - I should have read the instructions properly!! But I didn't. :oops: ]

    I have now had to go through the whole setup process again using the destination disk this time and managed to clone that successfully using another cloning program.

    However I still can't access my original source drive. I have tried installing the source drive in two other computers and the BIOS refuses to recognize the drive at all. A third pc won't even boot to the BIOS setup screen with the drive installed! When I do I manage to boot the system with the source drive as a slave, it isn't recognized in Windows.

    The drive, although not new, was still in excellent condition - no bad sectors etc. I know the problem has something to do with what happened when using Acronis True Image. Is there some way I can recover this HDD?
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    You can try a Repair install of Windows. But the Repair option you want is the one that comes up right after the EULA screen. So ignore all previous options for Recovery or Repair until you get to the one after the EULA screen. This repair option will leave all your files and apps intact.
     
  3. jj0071

    jj0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Posts:
    12
    Hey Chez, dont feel bad.
    I read the instructions and TI still jacked my HDD's.
    The destination drive gives the error, "Error Loading Operating System" when I boot to it. The source drive got wiped/erased/whatever. I lost the files on the source drive and didn't select the wipe the source option. I tried fixmbr,etc to no avail. I even tried the "second R" repair option, It didn't work either. Good Luck.
     
  4. chezzam

    chezzam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    RE: Ralphie - "You can try a Repair install of Windows. "

    Tnx Ralphie for the advice. Problem is I can't even access the drive to be able to try anything!

    RE: jj0071's comments

    If I could access my drive I think I could probably fix it using one of the tools on Hiren's Boot CD. If you don't have this, I recommend you go download a copy - just google it for a download site. There are some great recovery & partitioning tools on this CD.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    jj0071,

    Have you tried the BIOS fixes?
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Is the source drive recognized correctly by the BIOS?

    In Windows XP's Disk Management (Control Panel / Administrative Tools / Computer Management / Disk Management), what is shown for the drive? Disk Management shows drives even if no drive letter is assigned to them to allow partitioning and formatting.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chezzam,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please try to plug only the source drive (the drive in question) to the computer and check if the BIOS detects it. Please also try using different cables to plug the drive. If the BIOS still does not detect the drive you could try to apply the drive to the nearest service center.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.