Sophos

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by lodore, Mar 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    the sophos antirootkit stand alone program doesnt install on vista.
    sophos antivirus installs on vista. does this mean sophos antivirus doesnt have rootkit protection bulti in yet?
    but is coming in a newer version once they intergrate the standalone tool in to the engine?
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    I think so.
    There is no mention about rootkit protection anywhere on their av page. link
     
  3. nispo

    nispo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    the rootkit protection isn't integrate in av, is alone and free. In the av program there is hips, buffer overflow, and suspicious objects controls. this is the new spec of the version 7.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    isnt version 8 out in beta thou?
     
  5. nispo

    nispo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    no, for now, but i use the version 7 and it is very good, in my opinion. Also in av-comparatives sophos has 97%, it's a impressive result, because in version 6.5 it had 86%, also in AV-Test.org it has 98%, it's a good product in my opinion. After this, the scan speed is like nod32 or avira, very impressive.

    sorry for my english, i'm italian

    nispo
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks for the information.
    I did try it the other day and was quite impressed.
    i think sophos should also market for the home user as well as the business market.
     
  7. nispo

    nispo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    i've found an interest thing.
    In this summary: http://www.virusbtn.com/news/2008/03_13a.xml

    sophos gain a good position and in the table at the end of document is compared the anti-rootkit detedtion. Sophos DETECTS rootkits with the antivirus, is quite good.

    i use sophos because my university offers it for free. Electronic and Information Engineering at Perugia
     
  8. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    You can buy Sophos individual license online but it is very expensive. You can get comparative protection with a much cheaper price from other AV like KAV, NOD32, BitDefender, etc...
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    that is true i guess. a single license from sophos partners is £30
     
  10. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    This is what I got about a year ago. It is £119 for one year.

    And it is now £133.00 for 5 users for one year.
    http://www.sophos.com/products/small-business/
     

    Attached Files:

  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  12. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    That is really good. Much cheaper than before. But it says 3-4 users, so I think the min qty is 3-4 users, meaning, that you can no longer purchase single license only.:(
     
  13. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thanks for the link, lodore.
    I think it's a very good deal considering the number of users accessing to the license :)

    @nispo: thanks for the vbtn link. It's always good to see the AVK's performance :cool:
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you buy a license can you inform me if you can buy only one license on its own?
    thanks in advance
    lodore
     
  15. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    lodore,
    I don't think i'm going to buy any license from them, at least in the near future :doubt:
    I'm not sure, but i'd actually say you can't purchase individual licenses at this time, unless of course you buy the 3-4 user pack license (which is indeed a good deal - about us$15 cost per user ;) )
    I actually own two avk & kaspersky lic's.
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yup the least you can buy is 3 licenses. quite annoying.
    i may email sophos sales on there website.
     
  17. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I ran Sophos Anti-Rootkit, just for a second professional opinion :

    Rootkit Scan Results :
    No hidden items found
    Hidden items : 0
    Time taken : 1m15s (very fast less than 2m)

    This means, I don't have any of Joanna's Invisible Things on my computer. (j/k) ;)
     
  18. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I have just had Sophos installed as part of package
    Reasonably impressed: just sitting in background quietly
    Auto-updates well
    Was initially unimpressed at choice made for me having searched out recent reviews and tests, but see improvment ++
    As per AV-C has a good HIPS function and was recommended by them as good option for corporate set-up.
    Not unhappy now.
     
  19. nispo

    nispo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    today i've made a full scan of my system (100gb hd, 60% used) and the time of scan is incredible. Before i had nod32 2.5 and the time for the scan was 30 min, now in the same condition and in the max settings (also nod32) the result is 24 min.

    Sophos well done!!!!!
     
  20. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    What scan options have you chosen in Sophos AV? There are tons of scanning options in Sophos.
     
  21. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    wow that is fast!
    and i thought nod32 was fast
    i have emailed sophos and asked if they sell indivitial licenses.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2008
  22. nispo

    nispo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    i've selected this options: scan zip files, adaware and PUA, hips.

    the best scan, also in nod32 i selected similar option, but nod32 had the extend heuristics. this option sophos hasn't. but is a great result.

    for me the scan speed is in line with nod32. very good

    the only con is the startup ang shoutdown of the notebook. is 10-15 secs more with sophos for the boot and 10 secs for close. but sophos has the hips control, nod32 no.
     
  23. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    This is surprising IMO ;)
    Last time i tried Sophos AV was its SBE 6 version, which i felt slowed down my system too much (compared to previous versions).
    BTW, i think its systray icon is the best among all av's :cool:
     
  24. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Now V7.1.1
    have 'nother look; tbh I was suprised.
    :)
     
  25. nispo

    nispo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    yes, you must install sophos 7, the 6th version is another av for me. try it
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.