Sophos AV

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, Jul 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Why do they not make a home user version.
     
  2. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Europa
    So, if you want you can use a home version of sophos security suite, just create a account on main page and select home user version.

    i try this suite on my vista, very good protect but slow down my PC.

    Rules.
     
  3. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Home-users isn't the main sector they're concentrating on though, probably because of their buisnessplan

    Home users require more per user - advertising, support for each user
    Big corporate sales is where the money is - less support costs per user... and when you make one corporate sale, you make thousands of pounds (or hundreds). When you make a sale to home users, you get a meer £30 (lets say for an example)


    Correction... a meer £30 (for example), less, costs for payment system, resellers markup etc
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2009
  4. TDev

    TDev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Hello,

    I owned a Sophos home-user license some months ago and found their tech support to be very responsive . . . even though I only represented one single-user license fee. Installation proved to be my biggest hurdle, and tech support got me over that fairly swiftly. I have since moved on to a different set of security options, but my overall experience with Sophos was good.

    Regards,
    Jim
     
  5. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    I recently cleaned a heavily infected laptop "protected" by an up to date (corporate) Sophos. It only sprang into life once I'd put in my USB stick with virus cleaning tools. It zapped most of my tools including combofix & smitfraudfix, even a GFI Web Monitor exe that I had. That experience backed up my previous impressions of Sophos being subject to quite bad FP-itus. :doubt:
     
  6. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    Indeed, applications that are not commonly found in enterprises have a high FP ratio with Sophos. It's directly related to them focusing solely on the enterprise market.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.