Sooflymami is having troube with Sandboxie and Firefox.

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by cheater87, Feb 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    She tried double clicking on the sandboxie browser icon and Firefox doesn't pop up but the sandboxie icon on the bottom does fill in, there are no error messages popping up, on the non sandboxed Firefox browser it opens up just fine, she tried right clicking IE and doing a sanboxie run but it has no option to run sandboxed. What could be causing this? How can we fix this?
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Cheater, I would have Sooflymami go to Sandboxie control>Configure>Window shell integration and see if "Add right click action Run sandboxed to files and folders" is ticked. If it is, then untick it and also untick "Add desktop shortcut for starting web browser under Sandboxie". Close Sandboxie control. Reopen SBIE control and tick the two settings again. It might work, if it doesn't, I think she should reinstall Sandboxie.

    What do you mean by "...but the sandboxie icon on the bottom does fill in".

    Important note: If she is running Firefox 27 or 27.0.1, she should be using SBIE V4.09. Some people had problems running Firefox sandboxed after Firefox 27 came out, beta 4.09 fixes the problem for most people that had the problem. A tell tale sign that she needs V 4.09 is if she sees Firefox running in Sandboxie control but Firefox doesn't open.
    http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=18337

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2014
  3. sooflymami

    sooflymami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Posts:
    361
    I uninstalled and reinstalled Sandboxie, then opened it with IE using Sandboxie, that part worked, but it just doesn't work with Firefox. It has pepperoni logo on the Sandboxie but the browser just doesn't open. I want to use this with Firefox. Original Firefox opens with no problems, only sandboxed Firefox stopped working. What should I do?
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    sooflymami, the symptoms that you describe, Firefox not popping up but you can see pepperonis in the Sandboxie icon tell me that you are using Firefox 27 or 27.01 and Sandboxie Version 4.08 or earlier. To fix your problem, all you need to do is install beta version 4.09.01. You can get it from here.
    http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=18337

    Don't be afraid, 4.09 is very stable.

    Bo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.