Sometimes pc cpu goes to 100% and hang...

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sweater, Jan 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    What should I do to help cpu not to go to 100%?

    sometimes when it peak to 100%, the pc hangs and could not move that I have to wait long and sometimes I have to restart the pc.

    I already have tuneup utilities 2011 installed, and even turn on the Turbo mode but still it could goes to 100% cpu cycle.

    What should I do?

    PC still - Pentium 4 2.4Ghz, Windows XP SP3 with 256 Ram memory.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Can you add more ram? As much as you can
     
  3. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    @sweater: At least add 256 MB more RAM (better to have 1 GB at least). Remove unnecessary startup items and do not run several programs at same time. Moreover, run Task Manager and keep an eye on process, which utilizes maximum CPU. Report here process name.
     
  4. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Process lasso would be much better ,than using tuneups turbo mode.It will also show which program or process is hogging the cpu.You need to identify whats causing the cpu utilization firstly.
    ellison
     
  5. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    which process is causing 100% CPU??

    I think TU 2011 is heavy for ur system.
     
  6. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I think it freezes only most of the time during the start-up then after that my pc runs smoothly. I even suspect that this happens after the installations of security patch updates of Microsoft, and also after NOD32 updates when re-started the pc. Is this natural and can happens sometimes?

    Maybe...Avast 5 free is more "lighter"?

    Just wondering if this normal, having 2 Network Service running and sometimes cpu goes high on this processes.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    it should be Eset's scheduled startup scan. u can turn it off, if u r sure ur pc is not infected. *Also Not recommended.;)
     
  8. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    google how much ram your pc can handle. sometimes the owner's manuals for older machines incorrectly identify the max ram limit - this was the case with a Dell desktop that I use as my secondary computer at home. It was supposed be maxed out at 512 MB or 1 GB. Right now it's running fine with 2 GB of ram installed.
     
  9. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Yap, it's now ok. RAM installed was now 760 MB (w/ aluminum heat spreader to reduce heat). I also installed CleanMem and Process Lasso (really looks cool). I think I don't have a need to install 2 Gig Ram coz I just uses my pc most of the time for surfing the net. Probably maybe if I use this machine for video editing and other intensive multiple tasks that I should consider upgrading it into dual/quad core w/ 2 Gig Ram memory.
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I had this problem on an old notebook. Adding more RAM is obviously the answer, but I've also found out that disabling the automatic Windows Updates will speed up dramatically your start up. Most important updates from MS are monthly (second Tuesday), so you can do/check it manually whenever is necessary.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.