sometime nod32 v4 fails to autoupdate,why?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by mantra, Aug 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    Hi

    i use nod32 under w7 and xp
    and sometime it fails to autoupdate
    i 'm sure it nod tries to update , i can see the icon spin
    i can see in the firewall log , i tried to connect the servers

    but nothing , it doesn't download the update

    everything is set to auto
    and about the schedules are the built in , i mean the dafault

    i guess the only cure is clear the cache , e click update

    but what does it cause the failure?

    i did notice the same issue for licensed and trial version

    sadly there is no command line to clear the cache and update ,for example a task to run once at month or every 2 weeks

    disable the pop up after an update i think is not advisable, recommended


    thanks
    cheers
     
  2. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    can i do it?

    thanks NoobStick

    i did and seems to be fine
    i guess that sometime nod tries to update when i'm offline

    is clear cache = delete this folder=C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Applications Data\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus\Updfiles\ ??

    or clear cache delete others files / folders or regkey ..


    is this folder protected by nod self defence? because i could write a code that could purge this folder every day , once at the shut down of the pc
     
  4. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
  5. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Is your license valid yet?
    Have you checked the date/time in control panel?
    Have you tried to clear the cache and change to pre-release updates temporarily?
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    yes it is
    and on the second pc , fresh install , it's trial version still working

    no i did not

    yes i would like to know if i can do a script to delete the cache folder
    so i can schedule it
    but i guess these folders are protect by nod32 v4


    may i ask a question ?
    did you have the same situation with v3 and v4 ?
    i mean clear cache because nod did not update..?

    thanks
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
  8. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Hey Mantra
    Nope, no problems whatsoever regarding " automatic update" with v4 or v3. But I do remember a Virus Signature Database Update last year that causing problems but that is another story. :)

    Take care my friend

    NoobStick.
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    offline

    thanks

    but i did notice that problem can occur when i'm offline and nod32 attempt to autoupdate(via schedule)
    a clear cache fix , but it's boring

    about update server did you set auto select or did specify one?
     
  10. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Re: offline

    Hi Mantra
    It is configured to auto select.
    "See you around" ;)

    NoobStick
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.