Someone tried deeparmor?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by solitarios, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    78
    Hi.
    I would like us to share the experience with this antivirus in the development phase. It is another antiviurs with Artificial Intelligence.
    Greetings.
     
  2. M3gatron

    M3gatron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    ::1
    I have already requested beta participation...still waiting
     
  3. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,464
    Did you use a company email address? It looks for enterprises only
     
  4. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,371
  5. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    78
    I'm still waiting for a response from the deeparmor people.
     
  6. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,982
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I asked for a beta license on 23rd January, and they did respond but I think I subsequently fell between the cracks.

    However, after a reminder email I did get a license on 6th July, and have been running it on my secondary machine since.

    No idea what it is doing other than what it says on their website, and this sort of stuff: http://www.prweb.com/releases/2016/08/prweb13594109.htm
    but it runs quietly in the background, and has occasionally given a block alert, which one can ignore in real-time, or subsequently through the console, accessible through right-clicking the task bar icon.

    No performance impact that I can tell, but that machine is pretty slow anyway.
    Has caused no problems, but it is difficult to know how effective it is unless a smart someone tests it. @cruelsister?
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2017
  7. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    235
    Location:
    Far East
    Hi

    Does DA protects when offline? Thanks
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,982
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I have no idea TBH :cautious:.
     
  9. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    I have DA 36 beta for a few months. I think (pretty sure) you have to be online. It does not scan. It does check files and webpages as they are opened based on my experience. I'm not an expert. The user interface is simple. You get a popup alert if it blocks something. It slows down my pc just enough to be noticeable. As noted by boredog, MT has thread and more users. If you run in sua, you have to run DA as an admin. for me, the con is the slowdown, and this pc is fairly strong and my internet is cable, 70 down 6 up. I don't always run DA.
     
  10. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,247
    The slowdown is the big con. Most users are better off protected by an AE/SRP with no impact on resources.
     
  11. M3gatron

    M3gatron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    ::1
    Anyone has any update on Deeparmor beta program? I am still running DA36. No response from the team for the bugs reported so far
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,982
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I have been running DA beta for about a month, but have not reported any bugs..

    Where do you see the version? I am not aware of any updates since they sent me a download link.
     
  13. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    I just got an email from DA a few days ago saying they're coming out with new beta soon, and it is expected to fix or improve the "slowdown" sometimes seen with DA36. But I only know that because they contacted me, and I think they contacted me to see if I was active because I've been running DA36 less often. I told them I was eager to try the new beta. I'll chirp-in if I hear more.
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,329
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Didn't know about this tool, very interesting. But the slowdown and the need for the cloud sounds like a deal-breaker to me. If it's really so intelligent, it shouldn't need an internet connection.
     
  15. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,593
    Location:
    European Union
    These days "intelligence" and "cloud" are one and the same thing... Meaning that the so called "intelligence" comes from calling home, not from a revolutionary detection algorithm.
     
  16. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    DA support sent me an email this week, (they noticed I was using it less often) and I was told they're coming out with new beta soon, I thinks within a few weeks if I understood correctly and DA claims the new version will be much faster. How they'll accomplish this was not explained (to me).
     
  17. M3gatron

    M3gatron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    ::1
    I haven't received the email yet. Please let the forum know when the new beta comes out
     
  18. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    1,982
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    +1
     
  19. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,792
    I am curious what the draw to this software is. I just don't see anything about it that would case me to replace something I am using. Am I missing something.
     
  20. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,312
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I was wondering also! I know that @_CyberGhosT_ uses it so maybe he can tell us more?
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,329
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I believe Cylance claimed that their AI doesn't need the cloud. Tools that need to use the cloud are not impressive to me.

    Good to know. Keep us posted.

    Because it's based on AI, it doesn't use any signatures like AV's normally do. So it's a new technology, but nobody knows for user if it's mostly hype or not.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    18,792
    The marketing would have you think this is the best thing since sliced bread. I spent a lot of time playing with AI and neural nets on financial stuff. The vendors made some money, but not so the users. I am afraid I am not trusting my system to "nextgen"
     
  23. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,371
    I for one am going to keep using Voodoo Shield. I think it can considered a next gen product.
     
Loading...