Some help with Flash in (X) and(K) ubuntu

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Longboard, May 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Some advise please
    I instaled Ubuntu 904 in A VM Loving it, All good, soon for the HD. :thumb:

    Then for fun did the same and exactly the same set-up with Xubuntu and Kubuntu to check out the new desktops: same install routine, same repos as required and same installs.
    Flash player in X & K is very poor: choppy, double speed and choppy or no sound.
    Ubuntu itself is fine.
    o_O
    What have I done and how to fix ??
    Ta.
     
  2. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Are you using the latest video drivers?
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Installed in VMWare Workstation 6.5.2 up to date, fresh clean installs and updated.
    Is there something else needed?
    ARe X & K missing something that Ubuntu has?
     
  4. Arup

    Arup Guest


    I meant the video drivers for Xubuntu or Kubuntu. What kind of video card do you have?
     
  5. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Um: the VM video card is softare emulation and doesn't communicate with the HW card as I understand it: I could be missing something. :doubt:
    FWIW: had exactly a similar issue with Fedora 10 recently: never could fix it.

    PCLOS, Wolvix, Slack, Ubuntu, Mint, Mandriva, Mepis, Dream, Puppy, CentOS, Sabayon, Pardus, PCBSD: flash set-ups: All good.
    Haven't had SuSse for a while, but I'll check.
    I'll have a stroll through the VM forums

    Has become a bit of an 'exercise' now: "Why is it so?"
     
  6. lewmur

    lewmur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    332
    You don't use video drivers in a virtual session. Those are installed in the host OS. In fact, attempting to install the restricted drivers will break the install every time.
     
  7. lewmur

    lewmur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    332
    Have you tried using Virtual Box instead of VM? I know that with Vbox you can choose how much ram to assign to the video and whether or not to enable 3D accel.

    Sorry. Can't help with VM 'cause I don't use it.
     
  8. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Some people have trouble with the flashplugin-nonfree.

    If that's the one your are using, maybe try download and install from adobe version.

    I don't think anybody uses gnash. If you are try flashplugin-nonfree.

    Which browser? What version?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.