Some help with Flash in (X) and(K) ubuntu

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Longboard, May 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Some advise please
    I instaled Ubuntu 904 in A VM Loving it, All good, soon for the HD. :thumb:

    Then for fun did the same and exactly the same set-up with Xubuntu and Kubuntu to check out the new desktops: same install routine, same repos as required and same installs.
    Flash player in X & K is very poor: choppy, double speed and choppy or no sound.
    Ubuntu itself is fine.
    o_O
    What have I done and how to fix ??
    Ta.
     
  2. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Are you using the latest video drivers?
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Installed in VMWare Workstation 6.5.2 up to date, fresh clean installs and updated.
    Is there something else needed?
    ARe X & K missing something that Ubuntu has?
     
  4. Arup

    Arup Guest


    I meant the video drivers for Xubuntu or Kubuntu. What kind of video card do you have?
     
  5. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Um: the VM video card is softare emulation and doesn't communicate with the HW card as I understand it: I could be missing something. :doubt:
    FWIW: had exactly a similar issue with Fedora 10 recently: never could fix it.

    PCLOS, Wolvix, Slack, Ubuntu, Mint, Mandriva, Mepis, Dream, Puppy, CentOS, Sabayon, Pardus, PCBSD: flash set-ups: All good.
    Haven't had SuSse for a while, but I'll check.
    I'll have a stroll through the VM forums

    Has become a bit of an 'exercise' now: "Why is it so?"
     
  6. lewmur

    lewmur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    332
    You don't use video drivers in a virtual session. Those are installed in the host OS. In fact, attempting to install the restricted drivers will break the install every time.
     
  7. lewmur

    lewmur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    332
    Have you tried using Virtual Box instead of VM? I know that with Vbox you can choose how much ram to assign to the video and whether or not to enable 3D accel.

    Sorry. Can't help with VM 'cause I don't use it.
     
  8. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Some people have trouble with the flashplugin-nonfree.

    If that's the one your are using, maybe try download and install from adobe version.

    I don't think anybody uses gnash. If you are try flashplugin-nonfree.

    Which browser? What version?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.