Solarin "Sirin" phone - " military grade encryption"

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by quietman, Jun 1, 2016.

1. quietman

quietman Registered Member

2. Pryvate

Pryvate Registered Member

Count me out, too.

I'd be thinking about a Blackphone or an UnaPhone Zenith (from the Tutanota email people), perhaps plus a separate ordinary Android Tablet or smartphone for my Google Play apps.

I freely admit I am no technical expert, but I didn't notice any explanation that I found extremely impressive about the "Sirin" phone in the links you provided.

I note their use of the term "Military Grade encryption", and I wonder if it just marketing hype, because I have read this:-

``Military Grade''
    Many crypto vendors claim their system is ``military grade.'' This is a meaningless term, since there isn't a standard that defines ``military grade,'' other than actually being used by various armed forces. Since these organizations don't reveal what crypto they use, it isn't possible to prove or disprove that something is ``military grade.''

Unfortunately, some good crypto products also use this term. Watch for this in combination with other snake oil indicators, e.g., ``our military-grade encryption system is exportable from the US!''

Source for above:-

http://www.interhack.net/people/cmcurtin/snake-oil-faq.html

Regarding "Military Grade" encryption, anyway, I suspect that a lot of encryption used by the Military does not need to be all that secure, a lot of "Military Secrets" may need to be kept secret for a couple of weeks or a couple of months, like planned troop movements, (Remember the 1st Gulf War, General "Stormin' Norman" and the news blackout that took place for a MERE 48 hours, or even that Air Force strike that only needs to be kept secret until only tomorrow.