SOL hates KeePass & MacroKeys

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by bellgamin, Apr 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    1- I recently bought a license for SOL. I should have tried it before buying because it seems incompatible with a couple of my vital apps.

    2- I use KeePass for passwords. I use a macro keys app (called Tray Macros) for entering repetitive date (name, address, etc)

    3- Both KeePass & Tray Macros do not function properly when SOL is active.

    3a- The macros print repetitively. For example, if a given macro is set to print "Hawaii", it will instead print "HawaiiHawaiiHawaiiHawaiiHawaiiHawaiiHawaii" (& so forth -- many many iterations).

    3b- When I enter a PW using KeePass, with SOL active, it gets rejected as invalid. When I deactivate SOL the PW is accepted. This happens on every website where I enter PWs -- it is not unique to one site.

    4- REQUEST - I request a solution whereby I am able to use SOL with KeePass & Tray Macros.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hi bellgamin,

    The best thing to start this off would be to give your OS and if it is 32 or 64bit! I would suggest that you do a scan and save your scan results and send to Prevx with the link to this thread and they can see what's going on with your system setup!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have done as you suggested. However, I have a few questions...

    1- Do you have any official status here? (I cannot help but wonder because you asked me to include a full description of my OS whereas the Scan Log already includes that information. If you didn't know that, why are you answering support requests?)

    2- I thought this was a support forum. I see others who get their questions answered. On the other hand, my question goes unanswered. Instead I am told to take my request and submit it back-channel. Why?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I shudder because this vaguely reminds me of the old days at Prevx's ComputerCops forum, where support requests were also suggested to be sent to an email black hole known as Prevx support. I sent many such messages back then, but seldom received any reply. I had thought this was a new era, & this was truly a SUPPORT forum. Was I misled?
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2010
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    1- No I don't have any official status I'm just a Happy Volunteer and Prevx user on the forums! And I don't see the scan logs so that is why I ask about your computer specs! Only Prevx employees see your scan log and then Joe (PrevxHelp) has some info so that he can comment better with your scan log in hand!

    2- I don't know why Joe has not been around today but he will come here and help you ASAP and he is the best at supporting all of us here and anyone that knows will say the same! I know Joe likes to deal with people here but if you are in contact with there support inbox he does suggest to continue to use that route as things can get mixed up if you are dealing with more than one support rep at a time!

    3- And please don't shudder because it's not like the old days like at CastleCops Joe does the best support that you will get anywhere and will do his best and work with you to get all your programs to play nice with each other if possible!

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  5. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    bellgamin,
    I had the same trouble with Prevx years ago.
    However, I have had nothing less than great support from them currently.
    Perhaps a bit a patience would help.
    Hugger
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hi bellgamin,
    Very sorry for the delayed response - I've been out of the office for most of the day today but am now responding to everything posted here :) I've received your scan log to the report@ address and have modified some of the entries which will hopefully improve the performance, but I suspect the compatibility issue may be more fundamental if SafeOnline is preventing KeePass from seeing the browser windows.

    It may be worth trying to lower the protection settings of SafeOnline from Maximum to High and then reboot your PC which will allow programs to access browser windows. Ensure that you've lowered it primarily on HTTPS websites but also on HTTP if you've changed those settings as well.

    If any of these problems persist, please let me know and I'll continue investigating further!
     
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I wasn't not in the least upset by not getting an immediate reply from you.

    I did as you suggested. That fixed Tray Macros for both FF & Chrome.

    However, KeePass continued not to work (on both FF & Chrome) by its ctrl-V shortcut. I could copy&paste login data, but that's a pain in the neck.

    I then reduced SOL from High to Medium, restarted, & tried KeePass again. Still no joy. (Sigh)
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you let me know exactly what version of KeePass you use, what OS, and what browser? I'll try and reproduce this locally and see if we can make a workaround for it. In the meantime, it may be worth disabling SafeOnline until we fix it but we most definitely will fix it :)
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    KeePass 2.10, WinXP SP3, Firefox 3.6.2 (always with DropMyRights)

    I have disabled SOL for the moment.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    NOTE: To set KeePass for auto entry...

    Hi-lite any entry>right click>(click)Edit/view entry>(click)Auto-type tab> (check mark)Enable auto-type for this entry>(check mark)Two-channel auto-type obfuscation

    NOTE: If SOL doesn't work with KeePass having obfuscation checked, try it again without checking the obfuscation box.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    May God bless your efforts. Thank you for caring. However, please do not spend more $$ on my problem than it is worth (I will not hold it against you).

    Aloha from bellgamin
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.