Software to unlock a laptop SATA HD?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by AlexC, Jul 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    What software can i use to do it? Any freeware?
    There´s no problem if the information is lost.
    Thanks!
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,290
    Location:
    England
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    What exactly do you mean by "unlock"? Does the laptop have Windows installed and are you missing the user account password?
     
  4. Arvy

    Arvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Canada
    Depends on what kind of "lock" you're dealing with. There's a more in-depth explanation of some core issues at http://www.wwpi.com/?option=com_content&task=view&id=2669&Itemid=129

    If you don't care about data recovery, it might be cheaper just to buy a new hard drive.
     
  5. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Seems to work but is paid, i´m looking for some freeware. thanks anyway.

    It isn't a windows account that is "locked", but the HD (Western Digital) itself, with a password.
    So far i´ve tried some tools in Hirens but no luck so far :doubt:
     
  6. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
  7. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    How about this low level formatting utility:

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Hard-Disk-Utils/HDD-Low-Level-Format-Tool.shtml

    As tgell noted you want to boot with a rescue CD/DVD and have the drive in the PC. Another possibility is upgrading the drive's firmware. Check on the Western Digital website for a new firmware version

    http://wdc.com/en/
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012
  8. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
    I was referring to the use of hdparm as far as connecting internally.

    I may be wrong but I thought HDD llformat works using a USB adapter or enclosure.
     
  9. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Thanks, I'll try your suggestions when i get back to work in a couple of days :thumb:
     
  10. kitek

    kitek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Well, HDD unlock seems to work except it cost $15+ per drive. Low format or any other utilities will not work. Send me your tag number and I may help.:cool:
     
  11. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Thanks a lot for trying to help, but the tag is damaged and some characters aren't visible :(
     
  12. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
    The llformat or the internal erase command of hdparm did not work for you?
     
  13. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Just tried them both, and it didn't worked. I´ll try the firmware update now...

    edit: no firmware update available... seems that HDD Unlock is the only way out.

    thanks everyone for trying to help :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  14. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,075
    The more I read about this, the only option that seems to work is HDD unlock.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.