So since the launch of v3 had to install .563

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ratchet, Nov 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    Noticed this on a forum somewhere or I wouldn't have even known about it. Do I need to keep checking the NOD site for version upgrades or will these upgrades come via updates? Thank You!
     
  2. Axel Foley

    Axel Foley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    I definitely agree with the above post...this behaviour is not just of the v3 series, old v2 version also behaved like this.

    It's really annoying...and I don't think there are technical reasons behind this.
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Well , there are technical reasons behind this because if they loaded every new version on the udate servers , they would probably crash .

    Since Nov 5 (for 5 days) they have released 3 builds (551 , 560 , 563 ) which would make their update servers overloaded 24hours and downloading the new build completely is very big file . It is another topic , however , if the fixes could be made somehow not in a wholly new build but just some smaller one and then pushed via the regular EA/ESS update . If it is possible , I don't know.
     
  4. CtlAltDelete

    CtlAltDelete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Posts:
    64

    New versions "should" be on the update servers:
    If you are a paying customer and since ESET says if you have a valid license you are entitled to free upgrades, then YES, it should be offered to you without you having to check the ESET site or this forum (who does that after purchasing other than techies).

    I do agree however, with Techie_boy that a smaller push of updates would be better.
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    HiTech or HiTech_boy , please , I am not 5 YO . Thanks :thumb:
     
  6. Axel Foley

    Axel Foley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Sorry HiTech Boy, but I don't agree with your explanation:

    - I bet whatever you want that with my actual version (.560), I will never receive an automatic update to .563, not even in 6 months from now.

    This was the exact behaviour of v2 version.

    The problem is not update servers, this could be easily solved by using content providers like akamai.net.

    There must be another explanation, that a lot of users would really be glad to hear. :)

    I don't understand why downloading a .560->.563 update requires a 16MB file download. From what I read, NOD32 is based on a modular architecture...its strange having to do a "minor" upgrade using a full installer.

    I hope someone from ESET could explain us how all this works.
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Please , don't get me wrong . I just provided some explanation but I am not representing ESET and I can never tell you the real reason (at least about this) because I haven't asked them about that.

    My own opinion is that they should find a way to fix these with the auto update , too . This is not a major upgrade but just 0.551 to 0.563 (if they don't want major upgrade , at least minor like these)
     
  8. Axel Foley

    Axel Foley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    I knew you didn't represent ESET...:)

    I'm glad to hear that we're all curious about the update behaviour of ESET's software. ;)
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  10. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    They wouldn't have to do actual updates via an automatic update notification, but they could just send us a blurb via e-mail notifying us that an update is available, or install a pop up that says an update is available like my Grand Daughter has on iTunes.:)
     
  11. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    That is exactly what I was thinking. Honestly, I don't even remember what forum I was on when I saw the post about this .563. So I hover the cursor over the NOD icon and I have 3.60 (so apparently I even missed a version). Now I'll keep checking the NOS site and here.
     
  12. EnGenie

    EnGenie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    182
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    The developers at Eset have to create a "Program Component Update" (PCU) which is a patch that just updates those components of NOD or ESS that have changed. This takes them a bit more time than just a complete product install.

    I agree that Eset should be pushing out these updates, but I suspect that their developers will be very busy over the next few weeks fixing bugs now that a new product (ESS) and a major new version of NOD have been released.

    I'm not saying that Eset software is very buggy, but now that the new products are being exposed to a much wider audience than the limited beta test, compatibility problems with hardware and software conflicts are bound to be found as well as other bugs.

    The load on their download servers could also be a consideration, depending on the capacity of the servers and Internet links to them.

    After a few weeks, I expect the rate of new releases to slow down, giving the developers more time to create the PCUs.

    On the Outpost firewall forum there is a new version notification thread that users can subscribe to. In the absence of any email from Eset, maybe the mods here could create and maintain such a thread (and make it a "sticky" so that it is easy to find).
     
  13. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    I can tell you that Eset developers are working this weekend since I received an email response from one of them.

    There is a way to subscribe to a thread so the forum member can receive an email when a thread changes. Perhaps if Marcos (or another moderator) created a sticky with new release information, we could subscribe to that thread so when it changes the member would receive an email.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2007
  14. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, like when there are definition updates the forum puts them out to us, so update notifications aren't a big jump.:)
     
  15. Kanosha

    Kanosha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Yes a popup update at the very least would be very nice. Surely it can't be that hard to implement considering that they already pretty much have the code in place for the definitions update.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.