So I tried Returnil 2010

Discussion in 'Returnil Betas' started by Boost, Oct 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    and uninstalled it quickly as it made my cpu usage around 100% :blink: I've used Returnil 2008 with no issues what-so-ever,so I dont understand what the issue is here.

    Anyone else have this issue? Tried it out on a XP home computer.
     
  2. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    No. I have two separate installations running it. One that is a KAV 2010/RVS 2010 combination (Admin level account), the other is just RVS 2010 under LUA/SuRun. Both working fine.

    Based on your sig...., perhaps a conflict with Deep Freeze? Did you run any of the 2010 betas without incident?

    Blue
     
  3. ssyknuwyg

    ssyknuwyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    the av Caused,I would also like you ,uninstalled it quickly 。
     
  4. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Nope,I uninstalled Deepfreeze first before trying Returnil 2010.

    I've since downloaded and installed Returnil 2008,with no issues. So,it's something with the 2010 version that causes the 100% CPU usage.
     
  5. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Well, it looks like one of those things that needs a challenge/response approach (try to see which processes are pulling for CPU time when 100% strikes - which can be difficult to assess depending on the situation, do the brute force serial uninstall of the likely candidates, or if possible, the serial disabling of likely candidates to eliminate the need for a formal uninstall).

    I hadn't seen AV contention issues in the betas. I did see the KAV application control measures create a couple of bumps in the road and simply opted to exclude from within KAV and that solved those issues promptly. Not being an Avira user, not sure if similar functionality exists in that product.

    Blue
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I personally do not like the new one. To me the GUI is hard to understand compared to the last one. Now the product itself may be better but the older GUI to me was more user friendly.
     
  7. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    I'll agree 100%

    That was the first thing I noticed that I didnt like myself. The 2008 version,is alot easier to navigate and understand compared to the 2010 version.

    Then again,it doesnt matter,if its gonna use 100% of CPU,then the rest simply doesnt matter anyways :D
     
  8. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    I had a similar reaction when I installed the first betas. I knew where everything was and how it worked..., and that had changed. Work with it a week or two and it becomes as transparent as 2008.

    On the whole, I tend to like the 2010 version more:
    • I might be alone here, but I believe the anti-execute functionality in 2010 is a much better implementation than in 2008. Yes, it doesn't apply to non-virtualized mode, but that can become intrusive. The 2008 AE functionality really needed a "whitelist current machine state" option to work really well, and then you're starting to deal with massive feature creep.
    • I like being able to set Advanced options under System Safe while System Safe is inactive. In 2008, you needed to be enabled to set those options. It's not something one typically does frequently, but it's a more intelligent implementation.
    • GUI navigation is fairly neutral once you get accustomed to the new setup and terms.
    Overall, I think it's a very powerful solution for those desiring a light simple protection without going overboard, particularly if implemented as RVS/LUA/SuRun.

    Blue
     
  9. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hello Boost and welcome to the forums :)

    1. Deactivate the Virus Guard - does CPU return to normal?
    2. Reactivate Virus Guard but then open preferences > Virus Guard tab and set the data collection option to "Do not collect and report...". Does the CPU issue remain?

    If #1 has relevance, exclude RVS files and folders in your current AV as suggested by Blue. If #2 has relevance, please check your firewall and/or HIPS to make sure RVS is not being blocked.

    Mike
     
  10. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Boost,
    Some additional information. The team indicates that they have identified the cause of the slowdown related to using RVS 2010 with Avira. The fix is a simple under-the-hood improvement that will clear this up but needs some additional testing time to make sure it works as advertised.

    We will be releasing an update that removes the RC text in the software to the download mirrors first and then will have a new hotfix update following the testing later this week or early next week that should resolve your CPU use issue.

    Mike
     
  11. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    my cpu also usage around 25-50% , i dont use any AV and i have Virus Guard and update disable and data collection option to is set to Do not collect and report, win7 x64
     
  12. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    Good news thanks! I'll give it a try again in a couple weeks to see how it runs with the hotfix.
     
  13. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi mata7,
    I have alerted the team to your report. Can you please send us the following to support (dash) tech (at) returnil (dot) com?

    * C:\Windows\ rvs3.log
    * C:\Windows\rvs3inst.log
    * MSINFO32 or MSINFO64 report**

    **Click START > RUN > Type MSINFO32 or MSINFO64 as appropriate. On the System Information screen click FILE > Export and then save the file where you can find it to attach to your reply.

    Mike
     
  14. 7ekno

    7ekno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Yeah, same here on WinXP, Server2008 and Vista x64 ...

    Even left the WinXP running overnight (7 hours) to return to 100% CPU usage again ... it happens with no other AV and independant of whether the antivirus is enabled or disabled ...

    7ek
     
  15. Think-eDesign

    Think-eDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Logan City
    Same here - Win XP Pro SP3 (validated & fully 'updated') 2.8ghz Intel P4 CPU, 1.5gig RAM - no av product installed while using 2010.

    Not only did my CPU using often go to 100% (usually around 50% - 67%)

    but my core temperatures spiked dramatically - I'm talking hit 70C before I ordered a shutdown.

    Process Explorer verified it was 2010 that was the CPU hog.

    Un-installed 2010 & walla temp back down to 45 - 47C

    Installed 2008 personal (free) - CPU still sits around 47C

    Process Explorer shows CPU running at around 90% idle now as well & that is with Avira Antivirus free running in conjunction with 2008.

    Until the CPU hog/temp issues are fixed &, (for me),

    Why no 'save entire folder contents' option?
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=254648


    there are big issues with what is essentially a superb product.
     
  16. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,293
    I'm glad to see this is an isssue for others as well. IMO,there should not have been an adding of antivirus with this program,period. This was a program written specifically for a reboot / restoration and now it's bundled with an antivirus,which causes nothing but "bloat" to an already solid ,stable program.
     
  17. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    I completely agree. I noticed that memory usage has increased substantially with the latest version, presumably at least in part due to the addition of antivirus. Until the antivirus component gets tested by the independent antivirus testing organisations, we don't know how effective RVS Virus Guard will be when compared with the top standalone antivirus programs. I can't understand why Returnil didn't stick to what they do best, i.e. reboot / restoration technology and leave antivirus to others who specialise in that field.

    For me personally, Returnil is going in the wrong direction. It seems to be trying to become a full-blown antimalware, rather than extend the reboot / restoration concept. Apart from the antivirus, a new GUI, and some consolidation of existing functionality, there appears to be very little that is genuinely new in this latest release. Examples of the kind of developments I would have like to have seen are:
    • Solve the problem of continuing a virtual session across a reboot in order to enable software to be tested that requires a reboot during installation.
    • Extend virtualisation (selectively) to non-system partitions.
    • Extend file and folder exclusion to the registry to enable selected registry changes to be comitted to the real disk during a virtual session.
    Any of these would have represented real improvements. This is where I would have preferred to see the R&D effort go, not in developing an antivirus; but this is of course just my opinion, others may disagree.
     
  18. Oremina

    Oremina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    England
    Have to agree with Boost and pegr. I have no desire to be thought of as an old Luddite but an increase in size from 2.65Mb to 9.52Mb is some bloat.

    I am a great fan of RVS and have used it since its early days but trying to be all things to all men seems wrong to me. I have no use for an extra AV or antimalware, I am more than happy with what I have. I'll stick with v2, at least for now.
     
  19. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    sorry i was busy at work, i just uninstalled it a few days back so i cant send you the files, im just gone way if you guys release Returnil without AV
     
  20. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    New Vista VM.

    CPU sits at zero till I hit update or scan then goes to 100% and stays there even when exiting RN.

    Killing rvsmon.exe brings the cpu back down to zero.

    Tried this a few times and rsvmon.exe unloaded itself on one occassion after exiting but all other times seemed stuck there keeping the cpu at 100%

    My opinion of the new version is I really don't like it but I'm a bit anti blacklists here as they're really not needed and only get in my way.

    At this stage I'm gonna run the old version and I would have liked to see that version developed further in the way of using as much memory caching before it disk caches, sorta like a full on ramdrive.
     
  21. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    While it doesn't address all of your points, you might try the Returnil Labs 2008 version (available at Returnil Home>Products>Beta & Other Releases>Returnil Labs).

    Blue
     
  22. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Thanks Blue, I actually didn't know RVS Labs - v. 2.1.5.3077 existed.

    Tried to install it in the new Vista VM after uninstalling the latest but the installer doesn't seem to do anything and the same for the older version?

    Late here, will try again in the morn.
     
  23. Firemage

    Firemage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    Does System Safe was turned on?
    What version of RVS you have used?
    What process was the most harmfull? (RVS 2010 runs both Service and GUI as independent processes)




     
  24. Firemage

    Firemage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    You don't like its structure or view?



     
  25. Firemage

    Firemage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    +100
    If we are here - than it would be better :)


     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.