So far so firefox !

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Spanner intheWorks, Feb 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    You should also check out Tabbrowser Preferences, it gives a lot of good functionality to the tab function.

    To rearrange the toolbars, right click on one (in the empty space after the help menu is a good place) then select 'customize' .. although it doesn't show you the little edge that you can 'grab', you can still move things around to your liking just the same.
     
  2. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    And how about the fireftp extension :cool:
     
  3. dog

    dog Guest

    IE only starts up faster, because windows pre-loads it at start up/boot.

    There is no way IE renders pages faster the Firefox ... clear both browsers cache, and set the cache to "0" and check again. ;)

    While, you can't drag 'n drop toolbars in FF, you can totally customize them, right click on the toolbar and select "customize ... " & add/remove whatever you wish. -Or- as with any browser use "F11" to toggle full screen mode. :)

    Steve
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 1, 2005
  4. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    for having your fav sites readily accessible ie Wilders > Bookmarks > Bookmark this page > create in bookmarks tool bar folder > ok .
     
  5. dog

    dog Guest

    Here's a couple of screenshots for you. (this one also displays the bookmark toolbar solarpowered candle just mentioned.)
     

    Attached Files:

    • FF1.jpg
      FF1.jpg
      File size:
      96.3 KB
      Views:
      458
  6. dog

    dog Guest

    Full Screen Mode "F11"
     

    Attached Files:

    • FF2.jpg
      FF2.jpg
      File size:
      94.6 KB
      Views:
      452
  7. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    When you click 'customize', it will allow you to drag and drop the toolbars around..
     
  8. dog

    dog Guest

    LOL ... Yes I know. :) ~I meant like in IE~ where you can grab the "whole toolbar" and move it ... in FF, you can only do it, item by item. ;)

    I should've been more clear. Thanks Notok. ;)

    Steve
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 1, 2005
  9. dog

    dog Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2005
  10. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    Spanner,

    I've been playing with Firefox for a couple weeks now and really like it.
    Regarding the speed, have you added the network settings extention to speed things up?
    It made a big difference for me.
     
  11. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    I read the thread where someone had a problem with the speed tweak but no other complaints that I know of.
    I did the speed tweak a few days ago with no issues.
    If there is a problem, it's very easy to switch back in the tools tab.
    One click and you're back to default.
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Off-topic posts have been removed, please let's all play nicely in the sandpit.

    Cheers

    Blackspear.
     
  13. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    For those interested in having Firefox start up faster, you can get the Firefox preloader here:
    http://www.klitetools.com/comments.php?catid=1&shownews=1571

    It's in the release candidate stage, but seems to be working perfectly for me. Uses between 6.5-7mb of RAM and greatly increases startup speed.
     
  14. crockett

    crockett Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Posts:
    333
    Hi ;)

    To speed opening of FF, install a shortcut on your desktop. Right-click on it, and change the line
    "C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\Firefox\firefox.exe"
    to
    "C:\Documents and Settings\User\Desktop\Firefox\firefox.exe" /Preftech:1

    As regards surfing speed in general, don't forget to check these pages:
    http://moox.ws/tech/mozilla/mdefs.htm
    and
    http://www.moox.ws/tech/mozilla/localizedbuilds.htm

    Rgds, Crockett :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 2, 2005
  15. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
  16. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Hey Spanner,
    I don't know if you've seen this or not.....I'd posted it before, but it got very little attention. You can get a version of FF that can run straight off your USB stick here . You can then use it it on any machine you choose. I'm using it at work and it's great. Picks up all my settings/bookmarks/etc. I'll bet IE wont do that. Anyway, I was quite impressed with it and just thought I'd let you know.
    Brad.
     
  17. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
  18. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Hey Spanner, got a few sticks......64, 128 & 256 Mb. Portable FF only takes about 6-8Mb! It's just great! All these machines at work but no FF (except on the few that I've DL'd it to :D ). Just plug the stick in and away you go! Picked up my bookmarks...settings...everything! Give it a try!
    Cheers,
    Brad.
     
  19. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Cheap as Chips! And getting cheaper all the time!
    http://www.thediscshop.com.au/index.cgi
     

    Attached Files:

  20. DanL

    DanL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Posts:
    159
    Has anyone had any luck getting the spellchecker to install from the earlier post?
    I've tried several times with no luck.

    Just tried again and got a small pop up saying "unable to install."

    I've had no problems installing other extentions.
     
  21. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I have problems trying to install any extensions with Firefox....

    Also, gives me all kinds of problems here, with 404's.



    snowbound
     
  22. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Has anyone noticed, they just released a bunch of new extensions, check um out.

    Acadia
     
  23. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Dan & Snowbound, ;)

    From this page - http://spellbound.sourceforge.net/install.xhtml ... #1 SpellBound Extension ... Right Click and choose save as ... Then from FireFox choose "File" -> Open File -> Navigate to where you saved the extension, and open it.

    You also need to DL, the Library from Mozilla ... Here -> http://www.mozilla.org/products/thunderbird/dictionaries.html ... do the same as above. ;)

    Remember you have to temp. allow software installation (Tools --> Options --> Select Web Features in the left pane, an enable choice #2) once you've loaded both ... close & restart FireFox ... and you'll be good to go. You can access Spellchecker by right clicking any text box or you can add the icon to your toolbar.

    HTH,

    Steve

    Ps. Don't forget to disable software installation again.
     
  24. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Only the bare bones Spanner. I don't need too much....
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 5, 2005
  25. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Thats more than I run ;)
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.