Snapdeploy versus sysprep ?

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by dobbelina, Sep 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dobbelina

    dobbelina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Snapdeploy and sysprep ?

    If I wanna deploy an image of a ME or Win98 system to different hardware,
    does your application allow that ?
    The reason i'm asking is cause it's very little mentioned about your app
    regarding deployment on different hardware for these systems.

    Offcourse sysprep only works with XP, so there would be a definitive
    advantage using your app if it works on ME and Win 98 systems as well.

    Can the Acronis Master Image Creator (when booted from CDRW) write the backup to the same drive as it's being booted from, or do you need to
    use floppys to do that ?(if system only has one CD drive)

    I'm only interested in deploying standalone versions of either XP,ME or Win 98 with different software setups.

    Can master images be deployed using Trueimage or do you need Acronis Snap Deploy Agent to do that ?

    And finally, can the snap deployment agent be incorporated into a master
    image CD, so one can boot and restore from the same media ?
    Please comment, thanks :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2005
  2. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Dear sir.

    WIndows 9x version doesn't NEED sysprep because they don't work with SID's
     
  3. dobbelina

    dobbelina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    So you mean if I image a ME or Win 98 system with this application, it can
    be deployed to systems with different hardware ?
    From what I understood, apart from changing the sid's (on XP), sysprep also
    facilitates "mini setup" and detection of "plug and play" devices.
    Thereby making it possible to deploy to different hardware.
    Without this "tweaking" of the system, I gather that ME and Win 98
    can't do this.
    That's why I thought maybe this app makes it possible....
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2005
  4. jeremyotten

    jeremyotten Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Posts:
    684
    Imaging to different hardware can't be done with snap deploy. You need to use my method:

    ~~snip~~

    Windows 9x wasn't designed for companies and there for isn't supported on different hardware. You can try it though and It would work on some of the systems but not all..

    And why use 9x because this isn't supported bij microsoft since ages...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2005
  5. dobbelina

    dobbelina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Posts:
    54
    Thanks for the link, interesting reading.
    You answered my question, thanks again.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.