smitfraudfix question

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by RSpanky, May 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    I ran a Dr. web cure-it scan yesterday and it come up with 30 infections and one of them was smitfraudfix so I deleted everything in the quarentine folder an another scan nothing come up that time. So I am wondering if my machine is clean, should I run another scan with smitfraudfix but if I do I'm not sure what to do if something reappears and how to handle it Thanks RSpanky. Oh by the way I have Prevx3 real time, defensewall reaql time and sandboxie on demand I always run my browser sandboxed, not sure what happens
     
  2. Toby75

    Toby75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Posts:
    480
  3. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    Re: smitfraudfix

    Also, Malwarebytes anti-malware, Super Anti-spyware.

    Rerun Dr. Web Cure it in safe mode.

    Review malware removal videos @ remove-malware.com
     
  4. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Re: smitfraudfix

    I run these tools in Safemode I don't see SmithFraudFix showing up as pest nor with PrevX Business version it come out clean. I ran MBM and SAS both sure the same. You might have something else on your system. Run GMER and see what you get and Catchme.exe
     
  5. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Re: smitfraudfix

    I have ran superanti spyware,malware bytes, they both come up clean. I will try Dr web cure-it in safe mode to see what happens. As far as Mcafee it says my browser is not excepted I am using firefox. I will run these scans again to see what happens. Then I will try Gmer Thanks
     
  6. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Re: smitfraudfix

    I ran a Dr web cure-it in safe mode and it come with Process.exe C/windows system 32 Tool.Prockill what is this. when tried to cure,move,rename it said it was incurable so I deleted it. I am going to run a Gmer scan be back
     
  7. RSpanky

    RSpanky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Re: smitfraudfix

    Thanks for all the suggestions, I ran a custom scan in my Documents and Settings and that took care of my problem, Again Thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.