Smart Security firewall blocking Virtual PC

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by sfagent07, May 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sfagent07

sfagent07 Registered Member

hey guys I installed virtual pc with windows xp on it. But as long as my firewall is on in smart security it completely blocks the web and my traffic. Im a newb can someone tell how I can keep the protection on and still surf the web? Right now I have to disable it for it to work in virtual pc.

2. shansmi

shansmi Registered Member

put the firewall in interactive mode and let it learn all the ports and network adaptors as the Virtual PC hooks into the real adaptor... be sure to say allow and save your response on first launch. I had this working one time a while back and was actually using Free AVG on the XP Pro VM but ESS on Vista...

i have not tried this since SP1 on Vista and SP3 on XP....it has also been two iterations of ESS...650 was new back then....

3. sfagent07

I put it in interactive mode but its not asking me anything at all

4. sfagent07

nevermind it just popped up, you fixed it! ty so much!

5. mickhardy

mickhardy Registered Member

I had this same problem and always had to disable the ESS Firewall to allow traffic from my Virtual Servers. I use the actual Network Card with the ESET Personal Firewall Miniport rather than Shared NAT for the Virtual PC Network Settings.

When trying to fix this, I received the error message, Configuration Settings Unavailable or similar and decided to do yet another complete reinstall. Deleted all ESET folders and registry entries. Installed V3.0.657 and the problem has disappeared. My virtual servers can once again logon to the domain and access shared folders with the local Vista machine's ESS firewall enabled.