Smart Security engine update

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by barbone_ro, Jan 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. barbone_ro

    barbone_ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Hi,
    I have the smart security suite installed(ver 3.0.650), windows xp 64bit
    I just checked the website and i found a newer version.
    I have a quick question, though.
    In order to install the new version, do I have to uninstall the old one first?
    thx
     
  2. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    yes unintall old one then install new v684
     
  3. barbone_ro

    barbone_ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    thank you:)
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    No... you do not need to uninstall the old one first. It is designed to work with an install over the top. Always worked for me.
     
  5. Antiviruser

    Antiviruser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Can't you just update Eset or you have to download new version to update modules?
     
  6. barbone_ro

    barbone_ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Well, I couldn't find the option for the engine update, only for the database.
    So, I uninstalled the old version and installed the new one.
    Thx for the advise.:)
     
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    Yes the engine update can be updated automatically if ESET released it as a PCU (Program Component Update) which they have not. If you search you will find a better discussion of it, somewhere in the v4 forum.
     
  8. barbone_ro

    barbone_ro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    yes, FunkyDude is right.
    There is only 1 option: virus signature database update.
    I played around and I found out that both options work:
    uninstall old version and install a fresh new one, or just install the new one over the old one
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.