Smart Security 4

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by fpetit2, Mar 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fpetit2

    fpetit2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I've downloaded the trial version from ESET site for undividuals. It literally destroys my internet connection. It blocks EVERTHING even though I turn the firewall OFF!. I tried to make a clean install, but afer a few seconds, it kills my internet connection.
    I use WinXP - 1 GB RAM
     
  2. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    This doens't sound like ESET. What other security apps do you have installed? Or what was your previous set up?
     
  3. fpetit2

    fpetit2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I was running NOD32 2.5 and WinXP firewall
    I'm running it again since Smart Security 4 does not work at all.
    I have WinXP SP3 installed with the latest security updates.
     
  4. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    There is a problem with the ESS firewall, in posts in this forum it has emerged that the problem was found in the beta testing and ESET did not fix it.

    I have reverted to my Outpost Firewall and the ESET NOD32 and I'll stay with it.
     
  5. Xophile

    Xophile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Posts:
    161
    I have the very same problem.

    did a *complete*uninstall of version 3.0 (following ESETs own instructions)

    but it kills my internet connectionall the time and does not ask for rules in interactive mode
     
  6. fpetit2

    fpetit2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I'm amazed!. I thought it was my PC. How could they sell a product that didn't pass the beta phase?
     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Have you checked in Rules to see if your browser is set up for allowing both ways access?

    Colin
     
  8. dozgod

    dozgod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I dual boot Vista and Windows 7 and when my Vista ess 4 connetion stops
    working and I boot to windows 7, which has ess 3 installed, I still cant get any connection and have to reset the modem to get internet back.
     
  9. karthikpa

    karthikpa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    India
    hey guys! i too have Smart Security 4 installed my system works fine and the internet too....
     
  10. Dracula87

    Dracula87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ukraine
    It seems that the problem is only with the few users here. Got a licensed Smart 4.0 on Windows 7 - never any problems. Installed trials for my friends - now complaints. Odd? :rolleyes:
     
  11. eaglewebs

    eaglewebs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hi
    Lenovo laptioon N500, instal;ling Smart Security v4 for the first time. Hmmmmm

    During the installation of the latest version the computer froze and I had to power it off. Now the antivirus appears to be running, but I have no tray icon, no entry in add/remove programs, no ESET menu item in All programs. I have no firewall running so have had to enable Windows firewall.

    When I try to reinstall I get a pop-up with The Installer has insufficient privilidges to modify this file: c:\program files\ESET\ESET Smart Security\PPESET.dll

    I'm new to this forum basically because I'm desparate, so would appreciate any help if available. Many thanks

    Andrew
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does uninstallation in safe mode work?
     
  13. Adramalech

    Adramalech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    79

    To hard power off during an installtion is a no-go!:rolleyes:
    Have you tried running the Windows Installer clean-up utility?
     
  14. chesstango

    chesstango Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    i have Smart Security 4 installed and my system works fine and the internet too....!!!!! It is a state of the art program!!!!


    :thumb:
     
  15. eaglewebs

    eaglewebs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hi ..........

    Thanks to all for the replies. Unfortunately still stuck in no-man's land.

    Can't uninstall in safe mode because there is nothing to use to uninstall - without any menu or tray icons and unable to see it in add/remove programs am stuck. Also windows cleanup routine didn't display any ESET references. Ho hum ... I guess it might be time for a complete system rebuild. Once again, thanks to all who reoplied.

    Andrew
     
  16. Dracula87

    Dracula87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Try using an uninstall siftware that cleans registry entries (Uninstall Tool, Your uninstaller). Or usr a registry fixer to clean up eset entries.

    P.S. That's only a hunch. Might work...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.