Smart Security 4 causing stuttering?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by sotorious, Nov 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sotorious

    sotorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Im wonder has anyone else had this problem? maybe scanning something while in game something ive been doing some testing and it has left me down to nod32 smart security 4. i had found it was doing something

    http://s3.photobucket.com/albums/y85/sotorious2000/?action=view&current=nod.png

    that was around the time i stuttered and it was from the same tf2 server i was playing at when i connected to that ip. im thinking about uninstalling it for further testing im just seeing if anyone else has had this problem.
     
  2. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello sotorious,

    It looks like the communication with the server is being falsely detected as an attack. You can turn off the detection of this type of attack in the Advanced options.

    1. Open the ESET software and press F5 to access the Advanced setup menu.
    2. Browse to the following location:
    Personal Firewall -> IDS and advanced options
    3. In the Intrusion detection section, uncheck ICMP protocol attack detection.
    4. Press OK to save the changes.

    NOTE: Doing this will turn off detection of one type of attack, but will still protect from others.
     
  3. sotorious

    sotorious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    ok, do you think thats what caused the stuttering though?
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    First of all, could you verify that the stuttering disappears with firewall disabled? If not, does disabling real-time protection make a difference?
     
  5. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    The screenshot you linked makes me think so.
     
  6. Templar

    Templar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Hi There

    I had stutter in TF2 running Vista Ultimate x64 with ESS 4. Would be quite smooth most of the time but occasional packet seemed to get lost though.

    I've since then upgraded to Win7 x64 and Eset 4 fails to install (submitted a log to Eset) and I'm using the built in Firewall and MS Security Essentials so I haven't had a chance to try it out on Win7.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.