Slow web pages loading

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by taksina, Nov 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taksina

    taksina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Apart from images not fully loading, which was fixed in .563, I found v.3 to be very slow at loading pages from some websites, this very web board for one. Now I switched back to 2.7 and the problem is solved. I'm in Bangkok and the internet here is not supper-fast (ADSL 1Mb/215Kb). Not sure whether the fact my ISP uses transparent proxy causes this or not but you guys in this part of the world does not seem to have this problem.
     
  2. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    i am having the same problem but it is this websites forums http://forums.anandtech.com/categories.aspx?catid=45&forumid=1 i click the link to load that site it then takes about 15 seconds for the page to load then once there when you select a thread to read it takes about 10-12seconds to load everything on the page. almost like having a 56k modem back. i entered the site to not to be filtered hoping that is what was causing the problem but no luck. what is causing this to happen to it seems like forums only? maybe something to do with the software for the forums? fusetalk?
     
  3. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Loaded in 5 seconds for me with 563. no problems browsing, but many other problems with this release !!!
     
  4. taksina

    taksina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    I could not test your link with 3.0 because I had already switched back to 2.7, which loads this web board instantaneously. I can tell though that 2.7 loads your link just fine.
     
  5. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    i tried the first release of the new nod when it come out and had the same trouble, went back to version 2 and the problem went away so i know it was nod causing the problem. i have lowered the time down by entering the website in the not to be filtered section so it looks like that might be the problem for me
     
  6. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    3 seconds flat for me.:D
    I find some sites are slower than other but confess that's always been the case.
     
  7. feniks

    feniks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    130
    3 second for me with v563 and I have same ADSL 1Mb/215Kb like you. I remeber that in 2.7 not all the sites open instantly. The same site may open differently in different time. So it is maybe just impression?

    I tested this site with everything disabled in NOD and I did not notice any difference, same test I did with other sites with everything disabled and everything enabled I did not notice any difference. (I am using Opera)
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2007
  8. taksina

    taksina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2007
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I am with NOD32 2.7 , IE7 and ADSL connection . They both open great in max 5 seconds
     
  10. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,744
    Location:
    New York City
    I'm running version 3.0.563 with Ghostwall as firewall. No problem loading those web pages. Somebody enjoys golf. Good for you !!!
     
  11. edd3800

    edd3800 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    I installedNod32 v3.0 three days ago and all web pages load slower, some slower than others. Firefox and opera had the same problem. Uninstalled v3.0 and installed v2.7 and working fine now. I have Vista home Premium
     
  12. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Load fast i guess coz im on 8Mb /448 :D Seriously... no slow down on XP Pro. Are all the slow-down issues on Vista ?
     
  13. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
  14. taksina

    taksina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    How I envy you! Version 3.0 destroys my golf-pro career. I can only assume it doesn't like my ISP. Have to revert back to v2.7 :rolleyes:

    Thanks to all of you.
     
  15. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    i uninstalled version 3 and went back to version 2, i am wondering if it has something to do with vista? i am running vista 64 bit ultimate, what version are the others here running that are having troubles?
     
  16. taksina

    taksina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    I'm using Vista Home Premium 32-bit, IE7 and Firefox 2 and have the problem. I'll try the same config with version 3 on my other XP partition.
     
  17. nodHead

    nodHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    On 1500/256 connection with NOD32 3.0.563.0 both of those links loading in about 3 to 5 seconds - which is about what I would expect.
     
  18. nodHead

    nodHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    Make sure you have 3.0.563.0 installed.

    I'm running Vista Ultimate & Pre-Release SP1 - on both boxes I am not seeing any NOD32 V3 / Vista issues (although I do not use OE).
     
  19. taksina

    taksina Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    My problem is inherent to Vista (32-bit Home Premium, no SP1). When I install the latest version 3 on my other XP Pro partition (same ADSL connection). The web pages load fast and fine. Under Vista, it's dead slow. I don't have any firewall apart from Vista default settings.

    I don't know what's wrong with my Vista though.
     
  20. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'm running same version 3.0.563.0 with IE 7, XP-sp2, ADSL and I'm noticing a slowdown too. Perhaps some tweaking can be done in SetUp/WebAccessProtection/configure? I'd rather tweak than revert to 2.7. Any suggestions?
     
  21. Zarra

    Zarra Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    US
    I have Vista Home Premium 32 bit with Nod32 v3 and I can load both web sites in 4 seconds each.
     
  22. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    for those with slow downs, what pages exactly are you having troubles with? are they forums like here?
     
  23. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Well looks like we can disgard this 'alert'. Turns out my ServiceProvider is doing some sort of migration/upgrade in the local exchange and ADSL is being relayed for duration - hence slow 'take-up'.

    What a relief. :D
     
  24. macrosat

    macrosat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    8
  25. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Only a second or two longer here but with slightly slower service (768 kbps).

    - NOD32 v3.0 (563), XP Pro SP2, Windows Firewall -
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.