Slow Vista Startup

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by jrmhng, Jan 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi All,

    I've been experiencing a slow Vista startup and it has been really frustrating. Even after uninstalling crapware, tweaking services to a minimum, using vista basic interface and running only antivir and sandboxie, Vista still takes ages to start up.

    80 seconds to get to login screen
    another 100 seconds to have all the taskbar items loded
    anther 100 seconds where there is higher than usual disk and cpu activity.

    My specs are
    T5250
    2GM Ram
    Integrated graphics

    Cpu activity ranked by average cpu usage
    troubleshoot_2.gif

    Disk usage ranked by bytes per second
    troubleshoot_1.gif

    Processes ranked by memory usage
    troubleshoot_3.gif

    What do you guys think is the problem? What is trustedinstaller.exe? What are the two processes called system modify the system volume information? Why is my laptop so bloody slow?
     
  2. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Also disk activity ranked by read access bytes per second
    troubleshoot_4.gif
     
  3. ethernal

    ethernal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    try downloading o&o defrag, do a "full/name" defrag. any help?
     
  4. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for suggestion. I have tried defragging. Doesnt really help.
     
  5. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    huangker,

    What you describe is definitely slower than it should be. Have you tried:

    - Running an online scanner on the system (bitdefender scanner is very good).
    - Run msconfig.exe (using the run command) or windows defender and checking what's starting up.
    - Check the task scheduler and see what tasks might be scheduled for startup.
    - Use the built-in advanced reporting tools to see what errors are being generated and/or use the built-in performance and monitoring tools to log what's going on with your system (both during startup and when running).

    Good luck and let us know what you find.
     
  6. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for the help.

    1) I have run bitdefender and eset online scanners and they have come up with nothing.
    2) I have been tweaking with msconfig and services.msc. Almost everything is down to a minimum except drivers and essential services. I have even turned off superfetch and the paging file to try to lower the start up disk activity.
    3) For some reason the built in event viewer isn't recording new startups even though I've cleared it and it is no where near capacity.
    4) No tasks scheduled at startup.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    download the trial of System Mechanic 7.

    run all tasks, and tell me the results, ;)

    and, if your problems are fixed :)
     
  8. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    81 processess runningo_O

    Why is Trusted Installer running which should be set to manual and should only kick in as needed.

    The CPU and disk activity after desktop comes up usually relates to superfetch loading most used apps into memory.

    If you are confident with editing the registry you could set superfetch(2) to control boot only and prefetch(1) to look after application launch.

    With 2 gig of ram I wouldn't use readyboost as some have shown it actually slows high ram systems down.

    Anyway you could have a look at Speedy Vista where you may find some pointers.

    Below are my Vista processess but I do turn off and delete quite a bit and it is nearly on par with XP for speed.
    Vista.jpg
     
  9. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Huangker,

    Generally, it's not a good idea to turn off the paging file (especially with Vista). Check out Tweakhound's guide for info on paging file, superfetch, and readyboost (about which there is a lot of misinformation out there (i.e., it actually is a good thing and does make a difference)).

    Was this a clean install or did you upgrade over XP? How old is this Vista install? How long has this slow down been occurring? What changes were made just prior to the slow down starting (if you can remember)?

    In terms of which services to enable/disable, check out Black Viper's safe recommendations (it's what I'm using and it works very well).

    One other option is to boot from your install dvd and select repair and see if that fixes the problem.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2008
  10. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I have windows module installer on manual but it just starts up with windows.
    How did you get down to so little processes?

    Clean install from Lenovo DVD. It is around 6 months old. It has also been slow with startup. Initially it took 3 mins to get everything up. It has just gotten slower and slower. I'm already very skimpy on the services and have turned most of the unnecessary stuff off.
     
  11. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Hi Huangker,

    If your system is new enough, ask Lenovo to clarify whether you could benefit from their "Base Software Administrator" utility (readme's "i" designation missing). In keeping with the current objective, it may provide needed flexibility when attending to "non-essential's."


    GF
     
  12. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Seems some others are having issues with Trusted Installer

    With my processess I was just showing what can be done and don't advocate doing the same as I just like to tinker and try to run a system at the bare minimum.

    I do have ghost images that can take me back to before trying something and which I've had to use on a few occassions through over-tinkering.:ouch:
     
  13. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,694
    Hello,
    81 processes, holy dentist ... I think the answer lies therein.
    Mrk
     
  14. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I've uninstalled some more Lenovo stuff so now its down to 74. The only processes I have running are:

    Windows system processes
    Sandboxie processes
    Antivir processes
    Thinkpad Active Protection, Rescue n Recovery, scheduler
    Mozyhome
    Keyboard and pointstick drivers

    Is it really that many? How much lower can you go?

    I will try that later today.

    I've just turned it off. Will turn it on for patch Tuesday.
     
  15. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Bump.
     
  16. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,694
    Hello,

    You asked how much lower can you go?

    Not using Vista, but ...

    One of my machines, firewall, anti-virus, scheduler, Acronis processes, VMware Server processes, PeerGuardian, eMule, HDD Health, UPS, I'm at 43. Baseline is about 260MB memory used, after 2 weeks, goes up to about 390MB.

    Mrk
     
  17. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    What about Vista? How many processes do most users have?
     
  18. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    My laptop here is using 79 processes and my desktop is using 67. I haven't really gotten down to trimming things on the laptop yet as I have been working on learning how to network.

    My laptop takes ~110 secs to boot up while the desktop takes ~80 (it does have SP1 RC installed).

    Desktop--Dell Dimension 8300, P4 3GHz HT, 1.5GB RAM, 2GB ReadyBoost

    Laptop--Acer Aspire 5570Z, T2080 DualCore 1.76GHz, 2 GB RAM
     
  19. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Well this evening my laptop matched my desktop in bootup time:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    vista certainly needs tweaking midway ;)

    im hoping SP1 will do that, but from what i saw on RC1, it does not look like it will add any general improvements to speed.
     
  21. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    My desktop is more responsive than the laptop with SP1 RC. But I am not going to install it on the laptop at this time. I will wait for SP1 RTM on it.

    I expected Vista to be worse on the laptop from the stories I have read but it is doing ok so far.
     
  22. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    45 processes on my vista laptop.
     
  23. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    41 on my desktop (this is basically following blackvipers recommendations).
     
  24. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Infinity and CSJ, would you guys mind showing a screenie of your taskmanager? this would be helpful for me to trim my processes.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.