Slow updating

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by RandomNutjob, Oct 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RandomNutjob

    RandomNutjob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Basicly when do update the download is fine it's when enable protection where takes an age - not sure what's up but what used to take seconds takes quite a while now
    Run XP [if helps], any other info will add if need be
    Hope can help
    Thanks
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Based on your description, it sounds a lot like something else is slowing down the process of enabling protection (i.e. probably some other "active"/"real-time" security software).

    Could you please list all other security/privacy software you have installed? (i.e. anti-virus, other anti-spyware, security suites, firewalls, cleaning tools, etc.)

    Best regards and thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  3. RandomNutjob

    RandomNutjob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Full list of protective and cleaning software is:

    Webroot AntiVirus with Spy Sweeper [subscription]
    SUPERAntiSpyware [free]
    Zone Alarm Personal Firewall [free]
    SpywareBlaster [free]
    CCleaner [free]

    Just wondering if need SUPERAntiSpyware and SpywareBlaster when already got combined Antivirus and Spyware protection

    If is anything could maybe recommend too that'd be most appreciated

    Thankyou
     
  4. RandomNutjob

    RandomNutjob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Bump
    Anyone offer any advice/comment as is a strange and frustrating issue.
    Help be much appreciated.
    Thankyou
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Hi,

    Apologies for the delay.

    Please try disabling the Webroot SpySweeper "IE Security Shield", and see if that speeds things up. (It's been a potential source of slow-downs in the past.)

    Best regards and thanks,

    -Javacool
     
  6. RandomNutjob

    RandomNutjob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Apologies, hope didn't come across as pushy
    Just thinking when get update whether to disable then apply update and see what happens, will report findings when try it
    Thanks for advice, fingers crossed it works
     
  7. RandomNutjob

    RandomNutjob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Posts:
    5
    Excuse gap - had charger issues but all good now :thumb:
    Tried my temp off, then enable updates, then switch back on method and......it WORKED!!! :D
    Really appreciate help as been minor irritation for while and now have workaround will save a lot on my blood pressure :p
    On a sidenote looking back at programs have - any there which are superfluous or any missing that would recommend? Be grateful for any comments
    Thanks again :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.