Slow startup

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Whistle, Oct 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whistle

    Whistle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Posts:
    8
    Since I've installed NOD32 on a network at one of our offices, it takes 10-15 minutes to startup the computers. For testing I want to disable the startup scan en startup update for some time. Is it possible to do that in a policy in stead of disable the planner of all individuel computers?

    thx.
     
  2. general

    general Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    your lucky my computers won't even boot anymore.
    they get stuck on applying computer settings.
    Only affects xp though.
    by tommorrow morning when they all switch off tonight im going to be screwed. :'(
     
  3. nealuk

    nealuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    North East England
    From phone calls with ESET support today:

    "This is due to a duff "Antivirus and Antispyware scanner module 1288 (20101016) which was released over the weekend for testing.

    This module was pulled this morning."

    So you will need to startup the PC in Safe Mode, run the uninstaller, check the updates are all gone (safest to delete the ESET folder). Then boot back in to windows normally, and reinstall.

    From a call about 15 minutes ago, an updated module 1289 is rolling out... and hopefully it will cascade to everyone before they power down for the night. Otherwise I'm not looking forward to tomorrow morning...

    Regards, Neal.
     
  4. general

    general Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    On reboot our computers fail to load if it has version 5541.
    however booting into safe mode with networking then rebooting fixes the problem.
    however our computers fail to go to 5542 they just say no updates available.
    498 computers to go
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Do you update from a local mirror? If so, is the signature database version 5522 already downloaded in the mirror folder?
     
  6. grdotnet

    grdotnet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    I'm seeing a handful of machines that upon reboot will freeze when the user tries to login. They do come up in safe mode. All of these machines, according to ERAC, are on 5542, 20101018. Knock on wood this hasn't been a very widespread problem yet. WinXP SP3 with all current updates installed. I hope this isn't a repeat of the big ESET explosion from a month or two ago...
     
  7. general

    general Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    yeh, its alright they are updating its just very slow.
     
  8. general

    general Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Just tried rebooting a computer with 5542 and still did not boot.
    Safe mode with networking then reboot seems to fix.
    but for how long....
     
  9. general

    general Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Fail.
    after booting into safe mode and rebooting the computers they will boot fine but then freeze after a minute or 2.
    completly unresponsive.
    I really really don't want to go around 500 computers uninstalling nod through safe mode.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please check if your mirror folder contains the most current modules. To ensure that, I'd suggest deleting the mirror content and running a manual update / mirror creation within the ERA console.
     
  11. nealuk

    nealuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    North East England
    In ERAC select a client, right click, choose the System information Tab and check "Antivirus and antispyware scanner module" to see if it is 1288 - forget the 5541 and 5542 numbers, it is the above module which this is all based on!
     
  12. grdotnet

    grdotnet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    Most of our clients appear to have updated to 1289. The problematic ones are still back on 1288. Can I reasonably assume that by going to 1289 these PCs are now in the clear?
     
  13. nealuk

    nealuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    North East England
    Absolutely :)
     
  14. wayrocky

    wayrocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    India
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.