slow loading of some sites

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by devolic, Jan 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    Some sites load slow or not at all, What gives?

    Also, how do I disable the start up screen when the computer first boots?
     
  2. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    F5 Advanced Setup / User Interface / Show splash-screen at startup - "Uncheck this option to disable the splash screen display at startup". (From the Help section/Index/Splash Screen).

    There are some Settings the Experts will suggest you play with BUT you ought to Edit your post to state your OS - Browser and other security Apps just in case someone knows of conflicts. I (XP MedCtr SP3) had an awful time once with Can't Find Server/other Page-loading issues and had to Run Norton Uninstaller again (Paid BB to Delete Norton-junk apps 1st time on new computer) and DELETE specific Non-Plug-n-Play Drivers. One/both were my fix and the issue wasn't ESS's fault. You never know.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  3. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    OS is in my sig. I have firefox 3.5.7 and spybot S & D. Sometimes firefox will run at 100% in process manager also. Also, when I download large things firefox hangs for a long time at the end of the download.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Do you use a download manager pluging for Firefox? If not, you can try setting a file size limit for scanning archives both in the web and real-time protection setup. Otherwise if you download large archives, these need to be extracted and each file scanned when download completes.
     
  5. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    I do not use a download manager. How do I use the file size limit for the web and real time protection?
     
  6. devolic

    devolic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    40
    Location:
    Detroit, MI. (USA)
    Anyone
     
  7. JesusV

    JesusV Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    93
    Hit F5 on ESS, go to advanced setup under real-time file system protection,
    uncheck default archive scan settings. Then you can modify the size.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.