Slitaz 3.0

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Beavenburt, Mar 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
  2. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    It looks really polished. Thanks for the links. I suppose it's fine running on 64 bit quad core cpus ?
    Originating from Switzerland I would expect meticulous attention to detail - even their low-end Swatch watches are excellent. :)
     
  3. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    I think 64bit is supported but don't quote me on that. Have a rummage around their website, i'm sure it's referenced.
     
  4. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    They don't have x64 version but their standard version should work with x64 CPUs, its currently working on my dual quad cores.
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Tried it in Vbox. Very nice. However when I wanted to install it in Vbox the install rushes to 50% and then stops - I waited for about 3 mins-4mins then gave up. I must have overlooked something, but don't know what.

    Slitaz Vbox.png
     
  6. KikiBibi

    KikiBibi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    Is this a rolling distribution? Do I have to reinstall each time a new version is out??
     
  7. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I think you can upgrade.

    BTW. The Midori browser seems rather nice with adblock extension amongst several others, speed dial etc. It also seems pretty fast and they say it passes Acid 3. http://www.twotoasts.de/index.php?/pages/midori_summary.html

    SliTaz is really nice - from setup hardware support even began download of 190.x something nvidia driver. Unfortunately I can't install Slitaz in Vbox from the iso. Maybe it requires an existing partition(s) made beforehand.

    Edit: Nice Review. http://www.linuxcritic.com/slitaz-linux-30-lends-credence-phrase-small-powerful/
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  8. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Yes, partitioning must be done before install. Now I know why the installer doesn't work in Vbox.

     
  9. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Beavenburt has started me on this. Time to replace my Ubuntus with SliTaz .. :p only joking for now, it would make a nice tertiary OS to play with. I want to install it soon to hdd.

    SliTaz Firefox.jpg

    SliTaz Package Manager.jpg

    Slitaz Mplayer.jpg
     
  10. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    Sorry Ocky, have I awoken your inner distro hopper? :p

    Slitaz is a mighty fine tiny os and livecd. However, I've tried it as a full time os and it's sadly lacking in some areas, at least for me. Though it may work for you? Still, it is great to play and experiment with.
     
  11. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Beavenburt you are right, hence my tongue smiley after saying it's time to replace my Ubuntus.
    However it's great in Vbox and as a live CD and the package management is one of the best I have seen. Lot's of useful tools as well. I am waiting with baited breath for the next cooking release. :argh:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.