Sleipnir , anyone used it ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by rrrh1, May 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rrrh1

    rrrh1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    English website:

    http://www.fenrir.co.jp/en/sleipnir/

    Thanks !

    rrrh1

    o_O
     
  2. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    I have tested it couple of times and then switched back to Opera :D
     
  3. DonMartin

    DonMartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    In my house
    Yes, I use Sleipnir on my office computer. We are not allowed to use IE7 and Firefox doesn't work :mad: .
    So it's the best thing I can use.
    Everything that works in IE6 also works in Sleipnir. One thing that I really like is that Roboform came with Sleipnir, so I don't have to remember all passwords. :D

    Regards /Don

    PS I'm using FF in all computers I have back home.
     
  4. L815

    L815 Guest

    I have, but I keep going back to Opera and FF
     
  5. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    The opposite of what I do. :D

    I've been using Sleipnir for years now. It still has some deficiencies but I think it's the best IE based shell around. A lot of the plugin and support sites are Japanese only so that can be a problem.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,790
    Location:
    Texas
    Japanese browser maker takes on IE, Firefox
    Story
     
  7. Arup

    Arup Guest

    For IE lovers a far better shell than Avant and Maxthon. Interface is fast and slick, if there was no Opera this would be my choice.
     
  8. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I did try this but I couldnt figure out how to use the Gecko engine, plus I´ve read that FF extensions doesnt work? or is this really only a IE clone?
    How is this "high" customization made? Do they have their own extension system? I mean if I want to use my own gestures, move the tabs where I want and so on?
    I must admint that I only used it for an hour or so but I had hard time to find how to customize it the way I wanted it (they claim that a novice could handle it easily. I found for example maxthon and avant browser more customizable and easy to understand than this.
    I really didnt see why I should use this instead of Firefox, or IE for that matter.
    But I guess I´m too old and snowed in on what I already know :)
     
  9. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    I forget if the gecko extension is included or you have to download it as a plugin. If you want to load a page in gecko, just click the icon at the lower left on the status bar. You can set bookmarks to open in gecko as well or set the URL filter to open pages in gecko based upon keywords in the URL. It's a pretty basic gecko implementation so if you use this, you're going to be using it for the IE base, as that's where most of the Sleipnir plugins work.

    Mouse gestures are in the Sleipnir options.
     
  10. Defcon

    Defcon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    332
    The world does not need another web browser!

    I've seen 2 getting heavy publicity in the last few days - Slepnir and Orca. I applaud the devs for the hard work they've put in, but really, this is becoming like Linux - 10 million distros with no clear focus and a fragmented user base.
     
  11. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I tried it but I didn't like it at all so after a day i removed it and am back to Opera
     
  12. BrysonB

    BrysonB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I've been running it for a day now and am impressed. It's fast loading and navigates between sites quickly. It seems to be stable and responsive. It will not replace FF3 or Opera as my primary browsers, but is a nice IE alternative. I dumped Safari and hopefully will never have to use IE again! So, at the moment, I give it a qualified thumbs-up.
     
  13. Arup

    Arup Guest

    As I said, an excellent IE alternative and must for those preferring to use IE only. The best IE shell out there period.
     
  14. ex3

    ex3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    ive used it few times, i do like the browser but security wise, no way i dump FF+noscript
     
  15. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    You can turn off javascript/activex and turn it on for sites you want by clicking the security switch in the status bar (right-click for individual settings). You can set default security settings for sites in the properties page of their bookmarks or set a url filter that enables/disables security for the specified site. They do need a one-click method for setting default settings for a site, a la noscript.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2008
  16. ex3

    ex3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    yes i did do some experiment with the setting, i have to spend a bit of time to understanding the features.

    any plugins similar to addblocker, customizegoogle aavailabe for the browser,
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    While it does seem to be a nice browser, I still have to disagree. A few questions, how to:

    -Super drag and drop?
    -put the tabs on bottom?
    -close tabs with double click?
    -autohide sidebar?
    -block ads?
     
  18. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    Super Drag plugin is still in Japanese. I have a version roughly translated, though.

    Options->Dock->Tabs (Position->bottom)

    Options->User Interface->Mouse Alias (Left Double Click dropdown menu)

    Options->Dock->Explorer bar (many options there to customise its behaviour)

    Nothing built-in. I use a hosts file so it's not a big deal for me. It would be a nice feature to have.
     
  19. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    The problem with Sleipnir is its options - the settings don't explain clearly enough what the check box is supposed to do in a few cases. I had to do quite a little experimentation here and there to get things proper.

    Apart from that it is a fresh IE shell, very good IMO, and pretty much the fastest IE shell out there I have seen (but from a feature/user experience standpoint I still find Maxthon better).
     
  20. Windfresh

    Windfresh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    86
    As I and we all know Sleipnir is a mere IE shell with all vulnerabilities of IE, so why is IE7 forbidden to be used in your officeo_O? I can't see any logic in here. It would be more appropriate to make use Opera or K-Meleon from the point of view of security...It doesn't make any sense to me...
     
  21. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I don't know about it having all the vulnerabilities of IE. For example Maxthon does not suffer from all of IE's vulnerabilities due to its chrome which is different from IE's. I don't have any idea about Sleipnir but it should be similar.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.