Sleep/Stanby and effect on RAM

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Raza0007, Apr 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Raza0007

Raza0007 Registered Member

Just a few days ago I responded to someone under the "software category" about benefits/cons of sleep/standby and hibernation. It reminded me of a lingering question I had about the sleep mode and its effect on RAM for quite some time. I have tried to search for it on the net but could not find any relevant information, so I wanted to ask this question here hoping that someone can help me figure it out.

During Sleep/standby the current session is saved to RAM and computer powers down. Only RAM remains powered on, as the data needs to be kept refreshed. So, if one puts their computer to sleep all the time, this would mean the RAM remains powered on 24/7. In my case for example, I have been putting my laptop to sleep since 24th sept 2008 and have not shut it down during this period. My RAM has remained powered on 24/7 since that time.

My question is does keeping your RAM powered on all the time for months on causes RAM fatigue (if there is such a thing) or possibly RAM failure? Does it shorten the life of your RAM?

RAM is a piece of technology and being an engineer I can not help but wonder that keeping your RAM powered on all the time will cause it to fail a lot sooner then it should.

Any suggestion/comments will be welcome.

p.s. I am using vista and I have not yet noticed any performance decline having my RAM powered on since 24th sept 2008

2. prius04

prius04 Registered Member

Apparently not, at least not from what I've seen. Prior to switching to using her laptop almost exclusively, my wife left the RAM "powered on" (using standby) for **several years** in her Dimension 8200 with no ill effects. In fact, the thing, which is now pushing 8 years old, is still going strong.

3. Bill_Bright

Bill_Bright Registered Member