sleep mode crashing on operator wakeup

Discussion in 'hardware' started by BellaBoo, Apr 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    hello :)

    some time back, i configured my desktop to enter sleep mode and wake up by pushing the power button [on the tower]. it worked an absolute treat!

    around the beginning of march, I attached a wireless keyboard and mouse. since then and prior to this issue occurring [first report 6 april] I've installed automatic updates only.

    i'm not a computer buff. I have spent hours trying to figure it out and I have done much configuring [all undoable] to get it back to how it was.

    the original configuration: power management 'balanced' with my screen to go dark at 10 minutes and to enter sleep mode after 15 minutes. I believe the only tweaking I did was to enable wake timers and I assigned the power button on my tower to, when pressed, enter sleep and wake up.

    here's what used to happen: computer on, push power button, sleep, push power button, wake up [revealing the screen I'd been working on]. beautiful!

    now, pressing the power button to wake up the computer, it starts to load as if from a shut down state and then reveals a screen from the bios manufacturer [American megatrends] reporting a hyper transfer sync flood error. I've never ever had to update the bios of any computer I've owned; but then again, this is the first time I didn't buy thru dell.

    things I've done to correct the issue:

    I created a new power plan that prevents the HDD from shutting down [so, screen dark 10 mins, sleep 15, hdd never].

    i also set to automatic [from manual] the 'windows driver foundation - user-mode driver framework.

    I read about usb suspension [in sleep mode] and checked that it was enabled [should it be disabled?]. from that, I followed [Microsoft] instructions and opened my device manager, viewed my connected devices and unchecked 'allow this computer to turn off this device to save power' for all usb connected devices [including my wireless mouse and keyboard, both being configured to 'wake the computer' but which always failed in any event]. this therefore tells me that all my usb connected devices remain 'powered'. bollocks! it failed.

    I read also where it was unlikely the bios could read a wireless device!

    so, I shut it down, disconnected my wireless keyboard and mouse, connected my usb keyboard and mouse, started up, checked for updated device drivers for both [all current], both checked to 'allow wake up', hit [soft button] sleep, let it stand a few minutes, hit the space bar; nothing, waggled the mouse; nothing, pressed the power button, and it loaded as if in a shut down state [revealing the hyper transfer sync flood error page again].

    I requested the hotfix from this link: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/974476 but i'm hesitant to install it...

    please, can anyone help me with this issue?

    tia

    ps: I've read too about conflicts with audio drivers [2 per device manager: 'amd high definition audio device' and 'realtek high definition audio'].
     
  2. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    oh! i may be in the wrong forum...
     
  3. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Sadly, you didn't tell us anything about the computer - brand, model numbers, version of Windows.

    The HT error suggests an AMD system and in researching, resetting and/or updating the BIOS fixed it. I might suggest replacing the CMOS battery as that will (1) ensure you have a good battery and (2) reset the BIOS in the process. Just make sure you unplug from the wall and touch bare metal of the case BEFORE reaching in. Do not touch the new battery with bare fingers as skin oils promote corrosion and attract dust. After replacing the new battery, connect power and boot directly into the BIOS Setup Menu to reset the date and time and to ensure drives are properly identified, and boot order is correct, then save and exit to boot normally and see what happens.

    The BIOS can't read wireless devices. But the BIOS does support USB ports so you should be able to use a properly configured wireless device through a wireless USB adapter.
     
  4. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    hi bill and thanks so much for your reply. computer details are in my signature but I'm not sure what you mean about make and model [are you referring to the BIOS?]

    thankfully, the build is less than 12 months' old so any work will be performed under its warranty.

    I believe the motherboard was manufactured by foxconn, with American megatrends providing the bios software.

    I have more to say about this power management issue, but i'll save that for my next post...

    thanks again :)
     
  5. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    regarding power management:

    is it that some PM settings relate specifically to laptops [and not to desktops]?

    I've been reading about this usb suspend setting and while it appears under the advanced power management link on my computer [a desktop], it is set to *enabled* while my research indicates that it's a configuration individual to laptops! it seems that enabling the 'usb suspend setting' prevents less draw on battery power! it is here that I believe lies the issue...

    in trying to figure out this confounded issue, I've rechecked all [having unchecked them] the 'allow the computer to turn off this device to save power' boxes under device manager\view\connected devices\...\pci bus\usb root hubs\power management and then disabled the usb suspend setting and hopefully i'll have some luck using my power button to action sleep mode and wake up.

    ...
     
  6. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Since many posters have more than one computer, or they may be posting to help a friend or family member, we cannot assume the computer in question is the one in folk's signature. Thanks for clarifying, but we still need a bit more information, since you are not sure of the motherboard maker. If the computer was factory made, you get BIOS updates from the computer maker. If the computer was custom built with parts purchased separately, you get the BIOS updates from the motherboard maker.

    Since notebooks have batteries, there are some settings that apply just to notebooks.

    That said, since this still under warranty, you should contact warranty support to get on record you are having problems.
     
  7. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    thanks so much bill for your reply and I believe that with the knowledge you've provided me, I have a better understanding of where I might be at with this computer...

    my splash screen is foxconn and setup indicates that American megatrends provided the bios software; I cannot for some inexplicable reason, access foxconn support and AM wants $40 PER ANNUM to flash the bios and update the drivers...

    apart from that, I might have a dying cell battery powering the cmos; I've noted some 'time shifting' events in the logger that are simply inexplicable...

    harris tech built this computer [dkt 600] and we bought it sept 2012; cheap because it was used as a demo --- I believe we purchased an extended warranty and I hope for their sake that it's not a frikken lemon...

    i'll stick to my guns next time and not be persuaded by a salesman who has already convinced my OH: 2 against me [I made that promise to myself the time before when I was convinced to buy a $1700 front load washer instead of the one i'd researched and was prepared to bring home; I dislike my front load washer like gum stuck to the sole of my shoe --- 3rd time lucky is all i'll say on this subject].

    as to power management settings, Microsoft has me in an absolute bind BECAUSE the term 'power management' is ambiguous when not explicitly defined...
     
  8. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Well, CMOS batteries "should" last for several years - but that does not always happen and certainly replacing the battery is easy (with a few precautions) and cheap - so no real loss if not the problem. Just ensure you unplug the computer from the wall and you touch bare metal of the case interior BEFORE reaching in to discharge any destructive static in your body. Never touch the new battery with your bare fingers as skin oils promote corrosion and attract dust. Once the new battery is installed, connect power and boot directly into the BIOS Setup Menu to reset the date and time, and verify drives are correctly identified, then save and exit to boot normally.

    I cannot find that Harris Tech computer. You might try running Speccy from the makers of CCleaner and hopefully determine the model number of your motherboard.
     
  9. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    bill, thank you for staying with me on this; I am most grateful for the input.

    any battery/ies that might need changing will be done under warranty, so I won't be pulling apart my tower for any reason...

    i'm now convinced that my mobo is foxconn and that American megatrends provides the bios...

    I've done further research into this hyper transport sync flood error and I wonder whether it may be an overclocking issue --- I don't know that for fact, however...

    what I do know for fact is that when I wake my computer from sleep [by tapping the power button on my tower], I get [99% of the time] a hyper transport sync flood error.

    tonight, I accessed the bios and [enabled] my keyboard to wake my computer, restarted it and then I allowed it to fall asleep as programmed: guess what happened when I tapped an arrow key? grief...

    my reading indicates that a HTSFE can occur if HT clock speed = CPU-NB clock speed and that HT clock speed should always be lower than NB speed --- problem: I CAN'T FIND ANYTHING REMOTELY LIKE THAT IN MY BIOS!!!

    I accessed my AMD VISION Engine Control Centre with no happiness there either...

    yesterday, I reset all my 'balanced' power management defaults, shutdown, restarted, and all I could do was shutdown my computer when i'd finished using it, knowing i'd need to use it again in about a half hour...

    suffering failure again tonight, I set the HDD to [never] shutdown during sleep, and I've again set the power button 'to sleep'...

    there's this noise in my head that just gets louder: WHY IS THERE NOT A FRIKKEN WAKE UP KEY?

    please excuse my anger; it won't be long before this machine is back at harris tech and i'll get to have my say...
     
  10. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Well, you still might consider resetting the BIOS. You manual will show how though removing the battery for 30 seconds or so does the same thing.
     
  11. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    really?

    i'm off to check my scant piece of manual! thanks again bill! :)
     
  12. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    okay, on first blush --- what would the battery be called, if not called a battery?
     
  13. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    CMOS battery? It will be a wafer type (like a fat coin about the size of a quarter) battery.
     
  14. BellaBoo

    BellaBoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    SydYork, US of Oz
    well, it looks like i'm leaving it all to the techs cuz I can't identify anything in the paperwork or even in the pretty pictures that even remotely resembles a battery!

    let's face it, it's under warranty and anything I do will likely complicate that, so best I leave well enuf alone...

    bill, thanks for being around and for providing me with your knowledge; you've helped keep me focussed :)
     
  15. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I agree, you don't want to do anything that may void your warranty - though I have not suggested anything thus far that should do that.

    That said, better safe than sorry.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.