Sitecom Cloud Security - Hitman Pro in the Router

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Habakuck, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Thanks for the clarification.

    I would like to see an option to suspend the download until the analysis is done...
     
  2. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    I'll discuss it with the team.
     
  3. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    Good idea! :thumb:

    /E
     
  4. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,560
    Is there any way a person who lives in the USA can obtain Sitecom Cloud Security?
     
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    I wish Sitecom Cloud Security worked with my Netgear Prosecure UTM25. My subscription will be coming up for renewal soon, and it is very expensive. I'm assuming it want. If it would then that would be great because i'm sure it would have better detection than Sophos that they are currently using.
     
  6. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
  7. syk69

    syk69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Posts:
    183
    Any plans for USA availability?
     
  8. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Currently no. But we are looking for US partners. So if someone knows a product manager at a US router manufacturer or ISP, please let me know. HitmanPro.UTM can integrate in ANY device.
     
  9. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
  10. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    That sounds pretty decent!! :thumb:

    So from what I understood the Hitman UTM Firmware can be updated once new features like this are released?

    If you have some time, I guess a lot of us would appriciate more detailed information about the technique behind.... ;)

    I am really gooing to buy the N600 X5 WLR-5000 if you implement an option that unknown downloads will be on hold till the cloud analysis is done.. or at least add the option to display an alert if the file is not yet analysed.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2012
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,592
    Location:
    Outer space
    So if I got it right, this prevents exploits to browser plugins such as PDF reader, flash and java by preventing the plugins from downloading executable files. How can you determine from the router that it is the browser plugin downloading the executable and not the browser or another program?
     
  12. volvic

    volvic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Posts:
    220
    looking into this as well when new products released i will buy one too
     
  13. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    @HitmanPro crew: How do we know the difference between the "old" version of the router and the new? Or is it only the firmware that changed and updated in the X-series routers?

    /E
     
  14. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,750
    Location:
    EU
    Google translation:
    copied from tweakers.net
     
  15. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    Thx geradwil! :thumb:

    /E
     
  16. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
  17. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    Awesome! Time to go out and convince some costumers here to buy :thumb:

    /E
     
  18. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    578
    Location:
    Hengelo
    Exploit Prevention
    The Exploit Prevention feature uses a cloud-less and signature-less behavioral approach to detect attack patterns in web traffic flowing through the router, to determine if a plug-in and download is started by a human or an exploit kit. The approach successfully thwarts all exploit kits, including Blackhole EK 2 and RedKit EK. It is designed to help close the gap between the birth of a new virus and the availability of a virus signature.
    For a technical demonstration take a look at this video which I made today with a current X6 router running a development build of the updated software: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtsminiDg8E

    Exploit Prevention is the another security layer that malware has to pass before reaching the computer behind the router. The other layers are the antivirus engines and a comprehensive host and URL filter. This is all done without slowing down the browsing experience. Current content scanning throughput on the current X6 router is about 100 Mbps.
    BTW, we've received a patent in The Netherlands for our unique UTM-on-home-routers technology.

    Do Not Track
    Another feature that we added and is coming in the update this November is Do Not Track. When enabled, the router will insert a DNT field into http headers, to let websites know that your family doesn't want to be tracked (for targeted advertising). So even though some of your internet programs or devices do not support DNT, you can force it for all computers and devices in the entire network with just one setting on the router. It is disabled by default.

    New hardware
    Also coming this november, are new routers in an all-white design, with a new chipset (faster hardware) and additional features, like 2 USB ports and a DLNA media server on the new X6 (N900). This new X6 router will sell for less than 100 euros (at least 20 euros cheaper than the current one). I haven't tested the content scanning throughput on this new hardware myself yet, but the Sitecom R&D department mentioned it's faaaaast.
    And in case you don't like white, there is a rumour about an all black design that might come out in limited numbers ;)

    The new routers receive new packaging and the box contains a vertical stand that you can also use as a wall mount. The cheapest model in the new X-series 3.0 range will be the X3 which will sell for 35 euros. All new Sitecom routers will come with Sitecom Cloud Security.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2012
  19. Esse

    Esse Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Posts:
    417
    "Current content scanning throughput on the current X6 router is about 100 Mbps."
    This is all good, but do you know how many concurrent connection it handles?

    Cheers

    /E
     
  20. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,592
    Location:
    Outer space
    Thanks Mark :)
    Higher throughput on the 3.0 range sounds good, glass fibre internet subscriptions will be available soon here, with quite a lot of providers offering up to 500Mbit, there is even 1 that offers a Gbit subscription. Not that I'll be needing those, but there are some good offers for 100 and 200Mbit subscriptions. BTW, do you know if the routers have the same hardware? For example the current X5 would be sufficient for me, it has Gbit ethernet and dual band WiFi, and I don't need the enormous range of the X6 but if it's throughput would be lower because of slower hardware then it wouldn't be sufficient.
     
  21. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Any feedback here?
     
  22. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Will not be in current X-Series 3 release.
     
  23. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    But is it a considerable option for upcoming Firmware releases?

    Or is it hardware dependent?
     
  24. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    We are taking it in consideration. Its a software thing.
     
  25. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Cool, thanks for the clarification. :thumb:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.