Since the removel of msg121.dll

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by Storm7z7z, Mar 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Storm7z7z

    Storm7z7z Guest

    Hi it is me again,
    Since I got rid of this msg.dll my comp has been acting up. I just removed norton and tried to put kaspersky antivirus, I had problem with that. So I deleted that also and tried McAFee and that works so so. It takes a long time to load and sometimes my whole comp freezes. Also I get a message saying Generic Host Process for win32 has encounted a problem and needs to close. Also the comp has been rebooting on its own. I am thinking it is due to that error when I boot up. Whats funny is it lets me aty on the comp for a while before it reboots. I did also put this on the other antivirus forum but that is when I thought maybe it was just McAffee antivirus doing it. Just wanted to know if u could help me or know any websites that can. Has anyone else encountered this?

    Also what ever it is it doesn't do it in safe mode. I also virus scanned in safe mood and adware scaned in safe mood and got nothing.

    Thanks again in advance
    Storm
     
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Storm7z7z,

    Post a fresh HJT log so we can check and see if anything has changed since when your problem was fixed before.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  3. Storm7z7z

    Storm7z7z Guest

    Hi my pal Kent,

    Here is a new log for yeah.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 10:00:25 PM, on 3/31/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\CookieWall\cookie.exe
    C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Avsynmgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccProxy.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\tcpsvcs.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\snmp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgbhp.exe
    C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VsStat.exe
    C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Vshwin32.exe
    C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\Avconsol.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Network Associates\McShield\Mcshield.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.comcast.net/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = 127.0.0.1:81
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = *ne2.attbb.net;<local>
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: CCHelper - {0CF0B8EE-6596-11D5-A98E-0003470BB48E} - C:\Program Files\Panicware\Pop-Up Stopper Companion\CCHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\dlprotect.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: Pop-Up Stopper &Companion - {8F05B1A8-9D77-4B8F-AF54-6B2202066F95} - C:\Program Files\Panicware\Pop-Up Stopper Companion\popupus.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: McAfee VirusScan - {ACB1E670-3217-45C4-A021-6B829A8A27CB} - C:\Program Files\McAfee\McAfee VirusScan\VSCShellExtension.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CookieWall] C:\Program Files\CookieWall\cookie.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AdaptecDirectCD] C:\Program Files\Adaptec\Easy CD Creator 5\DirectCD\DirectCD.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NVIEW] rundll32.exe nview.dll,nViewLoadHook
    O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
    O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbars\Restrictions present
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {0000000A-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71} - http://download.microsoft.com/download/d/4/4/d446e8a9-3a86-4b59-bb19-f5bd11b40367/wmavax.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {33564D57-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71} - http://download.microsoft.com/download/F/6/E/F6E491A6-77E1-4E20-9F5F-94901338C922/wmv9VCM.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52/20021205/qtinstall.info.apple.com/drakken/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {68BCE50A-DC9B-4519-A118-6FDA19DB450D} (Info Class) - http://www.blizzard.com/register/wowbeta/si.cab
    O16 - DPF: {858B4F85-E945-4F0C-AF65-059E0AD9EEC0} (IntraLaunch.MainControl) - file://G:\Interface\IntraLaunch.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {94418D7F-29BF-460F-8614-DEFB34871FA4} - https://secure2.trueswitch.com/TrueConfig.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37870.4683217593
    O16 - DPF: {A3009861-330C-4E10-822B-39D16EC8829D} (CRAVOnline Object) - http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/ravonline.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    I really haven't been having the best of luck with my comp lately. I mean no problem in 2 years and now here they come :'(. Also now when I play my game the sound dont work right when before it was fine. So something is up but dont know what :(.
     
  4. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Storm,

    Nothing stands out in your log as it looks clean to me. One of the Experts should be around in 4 or 5 hours and I will have one of them look at it, just check back.

    Sorry I could not have been of more help.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  5. Storm7z7z

    Storm7z7z Guest

    Oh no problem kent,
    You cant help with everything. It has someting to do with that message coming up I believe. Well I might see if I can find a fix while waiting. It really bugs me when my comp isn't doing the right thing hehe.
    Well thanks again pal.
     
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi storm,

    Here is something you can try....

    Download McAfee AVERT Stinger and run. If necessary, click the Add or Browse button to add additional drives/directories to scan. By default the C: drive will be scanned. Click the Scan Now button to begin scanning the specified drives/directories.

    If it finds anything and fixes it, reboot.

    Then put your Xp disc in the cd rom and then click Start > Run and type the exact command:

    sfc /scannow

    Make sure there is a space between the sfc and /scannow.

    After it finishes, reboot and see if this helped any.....

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  7. Storm7z7z

    Storm7z7z Guest

    Well I am doing that right now. It seems it probably is a windows problem more then a virus or spyware. What is funny is im in safe mode and I can work fine. Maybe I should just uninstall the McAfee but I dont want norton on my system because I really dont like it.
     
  8. Storm7z7z

    Storm7z7z Guest

    Hi kent,
    Nope that came up clean. Should I do that windows xp thing if that was clean?
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Storm,

    Yes, do it also. That will check for missing, altered, or corrupt windows files and fix them.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  10. storm7z7z

    storm7z7z Guest

    Kent,
    That didn't seem to work at all. I seen like a quick window flash and that was it.
     
  11. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Storm,

    Were you trying it in safe mode or regular. I know that on my system I have to run it in regular mode as it will not work in safe mode.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  12. storm7z7z

    storm7z7z Guest

    Yup was in safe mode. Hope i can actually use it in regular. I end up not able to click anything.
     
  13. Storm7z7z

    Storm7z7z Guest

    Nope I cant do anything when I boot up in regular mode :(. This is real frustrating now! Im going to bed for now thanks kent for your help.
     
  14. Storm7z7z

    Storm7z7z Guest

    Hi Kent,
    Just wanted to tell you I fixed the problem. Still dont know what was making it freeze. I just pressed F8 on reboot and did last known good configuration. I really forgot that was in there and wish I used it sooner. Then just needed to install security updates again and my display drivers. Thanks for the help the last couple of days.
     
  15. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Storm,

    Good to hear you have it fixed now, good work....

    Regards,
    Kent
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.