Simplitec Power Suite

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by Rafrim, Mar 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rafrim

    Rafrim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Lancashire, England
    Today I noticed a new icon in the shape of a spanner on my task bar. I have no idea where it came from. When you hover the mouse cursor over it a baloon tip displays 'Simplitec Power Suite Free'
    I've googled the name but the links to the programs site is marked by Mcafee Site Advisor as a possible security risk which might be dangerous.
    Does anyone know anything about this program?
    Cheers
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Have you installed any software lately that might had it bundled in the installer?
     
  3. Rafrim

    Rafrim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Lancashire, England
    I installed AVG free a few days before I noticed the Simplitec icon.
     
  4. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    839
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
  5. Rafrim

    Rafrim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Lancashire, England
    fblais. When I clicked on your link the following large warning flashed onto my screen:
    WHOA! are you sure you want to go there? When we visited this site, we found it may be designed to trick you into submitting your financial or personal information to online scammers. This is a serious security threat which could lead to identity theft, financial losses or unauthorized use of your personal information.

    It was a similar kind of warning that prompted me to post in the first place.
     
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,979
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  7. fblais

    fblais Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Posts:
    839
    Location:
    Québec, Canada
    I use SafeDNS and had no problem going there.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.