shutdown problem

Discussion in 'adware, spyware & hijack cleaning' started by roger bromley, Feb 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I am unable to shutdown my computer as normal. It 'hangs' for about 30 seconds and then displays message 'not responding etc.' I chhse 'end task' and it will eventually close down. My hijack log is enclosed. Can you help please
    Thanks
    Roger

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.3
    Scan saved at 20:14:49, on 19/02/04
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.199:cool:
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IRMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TOSHIBSU.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\EVNTSVC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.keme.co.uk/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer provided by Karoo
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = proxy.kingston-internet.net:8080
    F1 - win.ini: run=hpfsched
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {EBCDDA60-2A68-11D3-8A43-0060083CFB9C} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NZDD.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,-1@1033,&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IrMon] IrMon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VB_run] C:\WINDOWS\comctl_32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TDspOff] TDspOff.Exe B
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SaveNow] C:\Program Files\SaveNow\SaveNow.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TOSHIBSU] TOSHIBSU.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\evntsvc.exe -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [loader] C:\WINDOWS\LOADER.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Taskbar Display Controls] RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .mov: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\npqtplugin.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .pdf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\PLUGINS\nppdf32.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.karoo.net/start/
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37876.1093402778
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: Domain = keme.co.uk
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: NameServer = 193.164.179.2,193.164.179.3
     
  2. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi Roger,

    Go to Add/Remove Software and see if you can remove
    WhenUSave aka SaveNow aka Save! there, either way continue with the following.

    Check the following items in HijackThis.
    Close all windows except HijackThis and click Fix checked:

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VB_run] C:\WINDOWS\comctl_32.exe

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SaveNow] C:\Program Files\SaveNow\SaveNow.exe

    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [loader] C:\WINDOWS\LOADER.EXE

    Then reboot into safe mode and delete:
    C:\WINDOWS\comctl_32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADER.EXE
    C:\Program Files\SaveNow <= entire folder

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  3. hi Pieter
    went to add/remove & chose to remove save now, it said not able to uninstall as may have been removed already, so I chose the option to remove from the list.
    Checked the 3 selections in hijack, & removed them.
    Opened in safe mode but do not know how to get to & remove the 3 selections?
    Not very computer literate I'm afraid.
    Roger
     
  4. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi roger,

    For example: C:\WINDOWS\LOADER.EXE

    To delete it open Explorer by doubleclicking "My Computer", doubleclick the C: drive, doubleclick the Windows folder and find the file loader.exe
    Rightclick that file and choose "Delete"

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  5. :(
    Hi
    I followed your instructions, found c:\Windows\comctl-32.exe and deleted it. The other 2 are not there! even using 'find files' did not locate them. The shutdown problem is still there. The message I get on shutdown is 'Notification Wnd for RNAdmin' then the text program not responding etc, wait, end task or cancel.
    Roger
     
  6. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,331
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hi roger,

    From what I could find that could be a problem with Realplayer.
    Fix this one as well
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\evntsvc.exe -osboot

    Or uninstall RealPlayer and look for a updated version if you wish to have it handy all the time.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  7. subratam

    subratam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,310
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA
    Yes Pieter you are right as always, its Real problem

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.