Should Spyblaster be run after rebooting for protection?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by oe777ael, Dec 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oe777ael

    oe777ael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    I know that if I have run Spyblaster, I can close the program and still enjoy its protection from spyware. But I want the official instruction about whether I need to run Spyblaster at least once whenever I reboot my computer, in order to be protected by this program.
     
  2. Rita

    Rita Infrequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Posts:
    6,863
    Location:
    wilds of wv
    Hi oe777ael
    you dont have to run spyblaster every time you reboot--it works in the background
     
  3. oe777ael

    oe777ael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for your response. Could you kindly let me know how Spyblaster can run in the background WITHOUT being launched by me, after rebooting the computer? Is there somewhere an official help menu that tells us new users such basic information, without us having to post to this forum?
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,721
    Location:
    Texas
  5. oe777ael

    oe777ael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Please excuse my ignorance. What is the technical explanation for the statement that we do not need to run Spyware Blaster at least once for protection (after which we can exit from it), every time we reboot the computer? How can it run in the background if we have not run the program after rebooting? Perhaps the registries have been modified to run it whenever we reboot the computer?

    I have already seen the information from the link before: "SpywareBlaster does not need to remain running to provide protection. After you enable protection for all items, you can exit the program and you will still be protected."

    By saying there is no need for the program to remain running, it clearly implies that the program has been run at least once. It does not say EXPLICITLY there is no need for the program to be run by me at least once. This is the reason why I have a doubt.

    As spyware has recently given me excruciating pain, I want to be absolutely sure of protection.
     
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    SpywareBlaster is not a running process.

    When u enable all protection it sets a killbit in your registry for all the items listed.

    All that is needed after that is to check regularly for updates.


    snowbound
     
  7. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Found here;
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=307650#post307650
    Hope it helps.
    Buck
     
  8. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Or here;
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=58113&highlight=spyware blaster work
    Cheers,
    Buck
     
  9. oe777ael

    oe777ael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for your help. As a Global Moderator, are you a member of the organization who offers Spyware Blaster to us? If so, could you kindly let me know what product to eliminate ALL traces of spyware SAFELY you would recommend, for those spyware that gets through to our computer? Spyware Eliminator? Spysweeper?
     
  10. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    No i'm not.

    If u search the Privacy and other Security forums here u will find a lot of info on the apps. u listed along with many more. ;)


    snowbound
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.