Should I take Prevx on board again?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by pegas, Feb 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Hi folks and Joe :-D,
    I have been off quite for a while. If I am correct, my last version of Prevx I used was 3.0.5.23. Meantime I kicked out ESET Smart Security and put on Norton Internet Security 2010 (company decision), btw much better than ESS. Before switch to NIS I uninstalled Prevx and I am with NIS only presently. However I like Prevx and I am pondering to take it back on board but before I would like to know:
    1) Can Prevx co-exist with NIS2010 nicely without interactions?
    2) How can Prevx reinforce my security? Is there any area where Prevx complement NIS?

    Joe, can I have specific questions?
    You may recall we have had certain remote sessions trying to solve a few problems I was suffering then. Namely IE8 crashes, Opera incompatibility, faulty touch pad, print screen problems and maybe others which I don't recall now. You obviously did a big leap from .23 to improve Prevx as much as possible. Your ability to be constantly improving Prevx is paramount and you set a benchmark for all others hardly to reach. However, now with version .74, were already all described hitches resolved? You know, if taking Prevx back, I want to avoid the same problems which were annoying me. Yeah, you can simply say ... just try the latest Prevx and will see ... but you spent a decent time on my computer in the past and now I would like to save your precious time ;-).

    Thx,
    pegas
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2010
  2. Pleonasm

    Pleonasm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,201
    Pegas, I’m curious: have you found that Norton Internet Security 2010 (NIS10) provides insufficient protection against malware in your corporate environment? Obviously, any additional layered security solution (e.g., Prevx) will be an enhancement -- but, to what extent have you observed an actual need for a supplement to NIS10?

    Thank you.
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I can honestly say that all of the problems have been resolved - except - for print screen, as that isn't a problem, but a feature :) Yes, I know I sound like a politician there, but SafeOnline intentionally blocks screen capture :D You may wish to configure it down from Maximum to High protection to allow screen captures to take place.

    Other than that, build 74 is significantly better than build 23 :)

    Let me know how it goes for you!
     
  4. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Thx for your input. I don't think NIS gives me insufficient protection, in addition I am trying to keep safe habits when going online on a net. However I simply like Prevx and I was used to use it in the past. Moreover I have still 8 month of valid license. I don't feel a need for a security enhancement though if Prevx can offer any to supplement NIS, it would be perfect. I have only one concern - avoid any potential clashes between the both.
     
  5. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Thx Joe for kind words. I will give it a try soon and will revert with result. However one additional question ... should I install beta release if I want to get automatically updated to next betas or do you recommend to rather install live version to be on the safe side? I recall that Prevx betas were very stable releases.
     
  6. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    I have been running Prevx3.0 and NIS2010 for several months without any issues. However, when I added SafeOnline (paid) to Prevx3.0 I found some problems with slow loading web pages. Also I misunderstood what SafeOnline was for, NIS appears better in warning about 'unsafe' sites than SafeOnline, which appears to be more about verification of IP addresses. I have uninstalled Prevx for the time being and am just running with NIS2010 at the moment. Might reinstall Prevx later if I can exclude SafeOnline from the setup but not sure if I can do that as my licence key probably turns the whole thing on?......... o_O
     
  7. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    If you click configure next to "SafeOnline Browser Security" on the main page of the gui you will find a big OFF button at the top. Click that if you want PrevX without SafeOnline. :D
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We do try and make our beta releases up to a "Release Candidate" level of stability so you shouldn't have any problem running them instead of the live releases (and I suspect you'll be notified of both either way from everyone here at Wilders :))
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We've fixed a number of areas of compatibility in some of the more recent versions of SafeOnline - could you try this once again with NIS and see if it improves at all?

    And for what it's worth, SafeOnline is far more than just the verification of IP addresses ;) SafeOnline provides full protection against unknown threats trying to log keystrokes, steal screen contents, or harvest user credentials in any other manner - it is a strong layer of protection which boosts up your existing AV/antimalware program in case it doesn't find every threat on your PC, allowing you to surf online with a much higher degree of confidence.

    URL blocking/IP filtering/etc. is an added feature on top of it, but the core goal of SafeOnline is to protect your online credentials.
     
  10. JBob555

    JBob555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Texas
    Just wondering if there is any more feedback on using Prevx Safeonline and Norton Safe Web together? Pegas, are you still using both? Does using both decrease the efficency of either? Thanks.
     
  11. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    I'm using Safe Online along with NIS 2010 for a couple of weeks now and I have found no problem at all (Firefox 3.6).

    The last Release Candidate came with some compatibility improvements for NIS and I did notice faster boot times in my computer.
     
  12. JBob555

    JBob555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Texas
    The reason I ask is because on the Symantec forum they said that if I am running NIS 2010 in realtime, which of course I am, then I shouldn't run another security software in real time. It may actually cause NIS to miss a threat.
     
  13. noblelord

    noblelord Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Posts:
    162
    Location:
    UK
    pegas, I'm curious as to why you are using NIS in a corporate environment and not Symantec's business products? :)
     
  14. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Prevx is fully compatible with NIS 2010 and we've designed it in such a way that it will not cause NIS to miss a threat :)
     
  15. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    You probably meant this thread, didn't you?
    http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Internet-Security-Norton/Prevx-3-0-and-NIS-2010/td-p/214004

    Joe, it would be wise to comment upon the thread on the Norton forum because the thread sounds negatively towards Prevx and all possible future users of Prevx will rather move aside after reading this.
     
  16. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    My company implements actually Symantec's end point solution. In my company all laptops are equipped with NIS, only desktops will be running the end point solutions.
     
  17. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I strongly doubt it would cause any negative interaction within NIS by leaving Prevx installed/active. We have literally tens of thousands of users who are using NIS + Prevx without any problem - the "Unauthorized access logged" message is merely an indicator that Prevx is accessing its files, and is not indicative of any problem.

    I may register on the Norton forum, but I don't know how much of a voice I'd end up having at this point. It would probably be best to have users redirected over here for Prevx + X AV related questions :)
     
  18. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    The posts at Symantec forums regarding Prevx sound to me as regular disclaimers, nothing more. It's natural that they don't guarantee a thirth party's product, they would be really imprudent to do so.

    If Symantec had a single evidence that Prevx interferes negatively with their products they would state this clearly, I have no doubt about that.
     
  19. JBob555

    JBob555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Texas
  20. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
     
  21. JBob555

    JBob555 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the super quick response. Maybe I'll give Prevx another try.
     
  22. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Give it another go. Prevx is excellent with support and will get you fixed up asap.
     
  23. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Hi Joe,
    I have got RC .104 installed. However I am disappointed from integration of SafeOnline into new Opera 10.51. Whatever web page I visit Prevx icon gets only blue with unknown status, regardless if it is HTTP or HTTPS site. In IE8 SafeOnline works how it is supposed. The main reason I installed Prevx was its SafeOnline. I wanted to enhance safety of Opera browser because Norton Safe Web doesn't work in Opera.
    It wasn't successful return to Prevx :oops:
    Can you something do?
    Thx,
    pegas
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2010
  24. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    The Norton threads wont load for me :'(
     
  25. blackcobra

    blackcobra Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Posts:
    16
    One question ..... we have NIS in our Office with 70 developers and is going to expire in a month....I recommended Outpost with Prevex..
    Is this combination enough. or do i need seperate AV coupled with Norton.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.