Should I Buy

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bumpyneck, Nov 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bumpyneck

    bumpyneck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Hoddesdon UK
    Hello
    Before I purchase will this work?
    Install True Image
    Fit a new hard drive into my externel cady
    Make an image of my Hard Drive onto this drive. It contains 2 Partitions "C" and restore"D"
    Remove old hard drive
    Replace it with the one from the cady after changing links to make it master
    Turn on P/C
    If O/K refomant old drive.
    Is it possable to do this say,every 6/8 weeks so that I always have a back up even if it could be 6/8 weeks old?

    Grumps:)
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    If you want to remove the drive from the caddy, put it in the computer and want it to boot, the feature you have to use is called Cloning, not Imaging.
     
  3. bumpyneck

    bumpyneck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Hoddesdon UK
    Hello
    Yes that is what I want to do (Clone)
    Is it practical?

    Grumps:D
     
  4. Colvin

    Colvin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, True Image works great for "cloning", i.e., replacing a HDD with another one. The procedure is outlined in the "Help" file under "Other operations" at the bottom of the list of items on the left. I've cloned several drives using True Image and the process was quite easy and surprisingly fast.
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I don't understand the last part, if you reformat the old drive then where is the backup?

    Better way, is to install 2 caddies. Make the clone and put the new clone into service (which tests it) and remove the original for safekeeping. Having 2 caddies makes it easier to swap drives and you can do this much more frequently because it is easier.

    Xpilot does this, but uses imaging instead of cloning.
     
  6. bumpyneck

    bumpyneck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Hoddesdon UK
    Hello
    Sorry, I meant after 6/8 weeks formant the drive and clone again

    Bumpyneck:oops:
     
  7. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    There is no need to format the destination drive. The User Guide states:

    You will have to select between:
    • Delete partitions on the destination hard disk – all existing partitions will be
    deleted during cloning and all their data will be lost.
    • No, I do not want to delete partitions – no existing partition will be deleted,
    discontinuing the cloning operation. You will have to cancel this operation and return to select another disk.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.