Shields up

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by Suggers, Sep 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Suggers

Suggers Guest

When using shields-up website (grc.com) I get this message on one of the first pages:

I use jetico firewall and got 'true-stealth' pass on firewall test, but I was wondering what component of 'Windows networking technology' is transmitting the information above (i.e. my name) and can it be blocked? Also, can all websites see this information when you visit them?

Suggers

2. Tommy

Tommy Registered Member

In my case, using Jetico v2. i have thos on the firts page.
    No information given, only my IP on the page before.

3. Suggers

Suggers Guest

There must be something in my setup, other than my firewall, that I haven't tweaked, any experts have any ideas?

4. Rodehard

Rodehard Registered Member

Im no expert and this is just a wild guess until one comes along but maybe your answering pings on port 113?? Do you and your computer share a name? Have you set grc.com as a trusted site?

5. Suggers

Suggers Guest

Yeah I should have mentioned above that my computer name is my name, according to shields up i passed the test fully and every single port was in stealth mode, I think port 113 is included in this so it shouldn't be answering pings, no grc.com is not a trusted site. I'm thinking it might be something to do with 'netBIOS' but I have no experience in this area.

6. Rodehard

If your showing stealthed then netbios shouldnt be getting through. Are you behind a router?

7. Suggers

Suggers Guest

No, I've just got a software firewall (jetico), but I use the same internet connection/modem with a desktop PC (windows 98 SE) and it doesn't come up with my name when using that, so it must be specific to my laptop (Windows XP SP2)

8. Rodehard

Whats differant? Same browser on both? Same Internet security settings?

9. Suggers

Suggers Guest