Sheduling Weekly Backup/Image and corrupted images

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by algypalgy, Feb 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. algypalgy

    algypalgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    New to TI 10 Home, and looking for a bit of help please.

    I want to know if I can Shedule a weekly Backup (Really a Full Image), and have the previous Backup/Image deleted after, or before the new one is created? If I can do this can you please list how to achieve this end? I have read the Manual cover to cover, but find it difficult to understand. One other example is: do you have to create a location, or is this achieved as you work through the wizard?

    Many thanks, in advance, for your help.

    Kind regards, Algypalgy.
     
  2. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    Re: Sheduling Weekly Backup/Image

    Algypalgy,
    TI 10's Backup Location feature should be able to handle what you want. You will need at minimum a separate partition for the backup files, if you want maximum security for your backup files, you absolutely should have a second HD, preferably external, for your backups.

    For a cycle of two backups that you mentioned, you will need space for both backups, as TI will not delete the older one until the newer one is completed. I would recommend that you allocate abundant extra space for your backups, to avoid problems and allow for larger backup size. Your choice of full backups is a good one, it is the most trouble-free way to go.

    To set this up is a two step process, creating a Backup Location and then a Scheduled task. I'm attaching a step by step text file that hopefully will get you what you want.

    Regards, CatFan
     

    Attached Files:

  3. algypalgy

    algypalgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Sheduling Weekly Backup/Image

    Many thanks CatFan432, I'll give it a whirl and let you know how I get on.

    Kind regards, Algypalgy.
     
  4. algypalgy

    algypalgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Weekly Backup CatFan432

    Hope that was allowed CatFan432, if not sorry, but reporting back on your advice.

    Everything worked out OK, except I can't get a positive Validation/Verivication for any of the Images I've created. All say "Operation Completed with errors, Logs also say: 32(0x70020)...The Archive is corrupted, and: Operation with "0-0" was terminated...Tag=0x82DB9339B70C31AFC, etc

    So what does this mean, can I restore from these archives? or does mean there are corrupted files in the Archive, etc, etc?

    I should say my system is a Proformer Pro PC, Intel 3.2 ghz, ATi X1600 PRo GC, 1.5GB Memory. Windows XP Pro with SP2. Ix120gb Internal HDD with 2 Partions "C" (25GB) and "E" (90GB), + 250GB External HDD.

    Also have a problem because I can't boot "C" Partion which has Vista installed but is corrupted and this is my Primarary Active Boot Partition. However can Boot into "E" Partion with XP on it, but is a Logical Drive with Boot only.

    I have just bought Acronis Disk Manager Suite 10, and would like to get rid of Vista and have the "E" Drive as my "C" primarary active drive. I have read the Manual from cover to cover, and searched the forums but can't find a solution that takes me through the necessary procedure, and would be most grateful if you could steer me in the right direction.

    Kind regards, Algypalgy
     
  5. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    Re: Weekly Backup CatFan432

    Algypalgy,
    I've found that I can sometimes help users through some general steps, but when things get technical I have very little expertise. I have been fortunate to never have had a corrupted image of backup with TI, but can tell you that you cannot restore from one.

    I'm concerned that the title you placed on this thread, Re: Weekly Backup CatFan432 might keep some of the experts on the forum from weighing in, if you don't see any more responses soon you might repost under a title that indicates you are getting corrupted images.

    Sorry I couldn't be more helpful, CatFan
     
  6. algypalgy

    algypalgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Weekly Backup CatFan432

    Really sorry CatFan432, I had a feeling it might not be the right way to ensure you got my reply. Won't happen again, but I do hope others will be able to help, if not I'll take your advice and re-post.

    Kind regards, Algypalgy.
     
  7. CatFan432

    CatFan432 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Posts:
    333
    Location:
    Topeka, KS, US
    Re: Weekly Backup CatFan432

    No need for any apologies, Algypalgy, I just wish I could be of more help. Still hoping one of the experts will pick up this thread.

    Regards and good luck, CatFan
     
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Re: Weekly Backup CatFan432

    Please clarify a couple points.

    1. It sound like you might be using TrueImage. What version?
    2. Do you have a archive of xp when it was drive C: and the only drive?
    3. When you boot into xp, do you do this from a dual boot or do you go into the Bios and choose the xp partition?
    4. What capability do you have of restoring your system to factory fresh?
    5. Do have a spare internal drive for use in testing?

    This will at least get some of us thinking about your problem.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2007
  9. algypalgy

    algypalgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Re: Weekly Backup CatFan432

    Thanks for replying GroverH.

    1) TI Version is 10 (build 4,872). Also have Disk Director Suite 10 (build 2,077).
    I'd rather not update these because I have the Programme Disks, so I can restore at will - had other Acronis products which I lost because I had to reinstall XP).

    2) Not sure what you mean here, but I do have a product disc of XP which I have used to reinstall Windows XP Pro with. Don't have any backup archives though. Should also say that Prior to reinstalling XP, my system was dual booted with XP on the C Drive, and Vista (RC 1 Beta) on the H Drive. However, over Christmas Vista collapsed and I had to reinstall it (RC 1 Version). That's when all the trouble started, because Vista somehow ended up on the C Drive, I'd lost the dual boot system and could'nt boot into XP, after much frustration and many attempts to get rid of Vista, I finally reinstalled XP to my E Drive (Partion).

    3)I boot directly into XP on Partition E, I can't boot into the C Drive (Primary Partition) at all, though I can access its files from from both Windows XP and Acronis Disk Mangement Suite.

    4) None, except using my Windows XP to reinstall it.

    5) No, I only have an External 250GB HDD (connected via USB 2 cable) where I currently have Acronis Images of my Internal HDD (C and E Partitions) stored, along with Windows XP Backups of Settings and Files.

    Perhaps I should also say that I have tested all drives and partitons using windows CHKDSK software, also tested my memory using MEMTEST 86, and everything seems to be OK.

    I have answered your question to the best of my ability and tried to add any other relevant information. I would be most grateful for any help you could provide.

    Kind regards, Algypalgy
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    My suggestion would be
    1.Buy a new hard drive and use your install CD and install XP Pro as a new installation and apply all the updates.
    2. Install True Image and do full image of the fresh installation so you never have to do it again.
    3. Install some of your personal programs and keep updating your image.
    4. Once finished, do another "full disk" image and put it aside for safe keeping.
    5. Once you are satisified again with your system, re-install the old drive (as a slave) and pull off any personal files, etc. Then fdisk and reformat the drive and use it as an internal drive so you have two disks (1 internal & 1 external) to store your precious TrueImage archives.

    6. I do not understand your previous comments
    Once you register your product it is yours. Your serial number stored on the Acronis site and you can download your registered progam as needed. As long as you can remember you e-mail address and your access password, you always have access to being able to download a fresh copy. Even if you forget your password, most likely, Acronis would supply you with another password--if requested. My point is that there is no reason for you not to have the latest update to your purchased Version 10 when doing a fresh install. Once you have the download, then burn it to a CD and write the serial number on the CD and you'll always have a CD of the latest update.---or perhaps I have mis-understood you comment.
     
  11. algypalgy

    algypalgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Many thanks GroverH, but this seems a bit drastic. What is it that causes such a radical solution? I'd certainly appreciate the rational behind your suggestion and with a bit more detail.

    As sugested before, I am quite new to this computing business, but I like to know what I'm doing and why. I have, and indeed, still am going trough the XP reinstallation process since Christmas. Hence the loss of files and Downloaded Software - I've learnt the lesson, but at a cost, because I just did'nt realise so many things about how much can go wrong. And also did'nt do the real basic stuff like having full backups, etc. Though I did have some using XP's own Backup/Recovery tool. Not all was recoverable, so I lost a great deal.

    However, I'm starting to get things right. That's why I bought the two Aconis Products - but only after a lot of research (plus already tried Norton/Symantic Products, "another disaster"). I just did not expect them to fail the first time I tried to use them.

    Anyway I will give a great deal of consideration to your suggestions, but just hope someone comes up with something a little less drastic.

    Again, many thanks, and kind regards, Algypalgy
     
  12. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    algypalgy,

    Your WinXP is in the E: drive and your boot files are in the C: drive. Things are just going to get worse and unless you have an image of WinXP when it was in C: drive, that you can restore, I suggest cutting your losses and starting again. Drastic? Yes, but it's only going to get worse. I doubt it would be possible to image your current drive and restore it successfully so TI isn't of use to you at present.
     
  13. algypalgy

    algypalgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Many thanks for the reply Brian K, though I have to say it all seems somewhat negative.

    Indeed I'm beginning to believe that I've made yet more costly mistakes, in purchasing TI and Disk Manager!!!!

    I have tried to think through the logic of what, both you and Grover H, have said, and I keep coming to the conclusion: that TI only works if your System is setup perfectly and your HDD is also in perfect condition. If this conclusion is correct, then I just wasted about £50.00 of my pension. Of course if I'm wrong? then there must be an answer to the problems I've outlined? That dosn't mean the kind of drastic actions suggested. OK, a new HDD may not cost so much, but the amount of energy, time, and shear frastration spent on sorting a Vista software (Microsoft), having to reinstall Windows XP, searcing around for various files, etc, etc, is daunting, if I have to do it all over again.

    Nevertheless, I do appreciate your efforts to help, which I may eventually have to take, but I have to remain the niave optimist I am. And like Mr McCorba, hope that something turns up!!!!!

    Kind regards, Algypalgy.
     
  14. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    From my perspective, I disagree with your assessment of True Image Home. Many feel it is the best of the image backup programs currently available for home use--none are perfect. For me, buying True Image Home several years ago was a good expenditure of my pension funds. Yes, I too am a senior citizen and retired. You may be surprised to learn there are quite a few of the other forum member also in that category. Currently, the best way to describe your system is not functioning normally. True Image can take an image of your system and restore exactly the way it is now. In other words, it can take a broken system and restore back as the same broken system. You want it to fix your system and that it cannot do--since you do not have an archive of your system when it booted normally. When you make a photocopy, the copy will look like the original---which is what True Image does.

    Because of the current condition of your system (caused by the Vista problem/install), a successful repair is a real long shot. Your best solution (in my opinion) is what I have already suggested; but if you want to attempt a repair with only a slight chance of suggest, then give it a try. You will need to create a new True Image backup image of the XP partition only and then restore it (using the TI Rescue CD) to a new hard drive. Your problem will be that the attempted repair will not boot and will need additional corrections--perhaps an XP repair. You have nothing to lose since you need another internal drive anyway--as previously outlined.

    If you were to take your system to a repair shop, it is highly probable their solution would be install XP again as a fresh installation.

    Since you are the owner of True Image Home software, why not contact Acronis support and see if they might offer some alternative suggestions. I wish there was a quick & easy solution but I know of none.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.