Shares missing on network systems

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by InforMed, Mar 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. InforMed

    InforMed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    I routinely backup and restore my PC from network drives accessed via shares. They normally work fine except when I try to restore from the recovery CD or the startup recovery manager, it can see the server (SERVER01) but when you try and open up the shares underneath, it doesn't prompt for the username and password. It works on another server in the NT4 domain, just not this one. This server isn't a domain controller - just a standard Windows 2000 server.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks, Rob.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rob,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If an image archive resides on a network share on a Windows 2000/2003 and is inaccessible from Acronis Bootable CD or Acronis Startup Recovery Manager, then the following needs to be done to resolve the situation:

    - Go to Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\Security Options\
    - Find the following line in the Security Options of the machine where the image archive resides and change it to Disabled: Microsoft network server: Digitally sign communications (always)

    http://support.acronis.com/KB/371/security_settings.gif

    After this you should be able to access the image when booted from Acronis Bootable CD or Acronis Startup Recovery Manager.

    You can also view this Microsoft Knowledge Base article for additional information on the subject.

    If it does not help then please collect the information requested in this previous post of mine and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  3. InforMed

    InforMed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    Actually - the fix was less esoteric. We rebooted the server and authentication started working. It was working okay from Windows just not from Linux/Acronis :rolleyes:

    Cheers, Rob.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.