ShadowUser Sandboxie Drive Vaccine et al

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by TerryWood, Jan 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerryWood

TerryWood Registered Member

I am a newbie who has tried all of the above software and more.

What I find is that common to them all, once you have done your browsing or whatever you can "dump" the effects of your browsing and return to a relatively pristine state have possibly removed any nasties one has aquired.

From that point on my experience has been very varied. Sandboxie is a great little program, still work in progress and there is a very definite limit to the types of programs you can install sandboxed.

ShadowUser (DriveVaccine) does not have this limit, or I have not found a limit. BUT the concept of rebooting everytime to rmove the snapshot and or save data files is in my view very cumbersome and time consuming.

Does anyone know of a program like Sandboxie where rebooting is unnecessary but any program can be installed and then removed without trace ie embodying all the best features of Sandboxie and ShadowUser type programs without the hassle.

Thank you for your help

Terry

2. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hello,
    If you wish to virtualize your OS on the system level, then only reboots will help. However, you can use virtualization as an application that runs in your OS. In other words, you can run an operating system inside an operating system.
    Mrk

3. TerryWood

TerryWood Registered Member

Thanks for that. Forgive my ignorance, but how does "running an operating system inside an operating system " work?

I mean by this a) is it complicated b) How do I achieve it? (Presumably there is some software to facilitate it if so what) c) Is it complicated to achieve? d) How does this method stack up against the ShadowUser method? e) What are the advantages?

Thank you in anticipation of your reply I appreciate I am asking a lot

Terry

4. Blackcat