Shadowprotect Rescue Disk Issue

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by beethoven, Jun 23, 2018.

  1. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,156
    We are still using SP on one server and are in the process of migrating to a new server. The old server is Dell 2950 with Win 2008R2 - the new server is Dell T440. I tried both Recovery Disk V5 and the Cross Platform Revovery Disk V 2.2.4.10 without being able to do put an image on the new server. Using Recovery Disk V 5 the environment loads fine but I am unable to use either keyboard or mouse, so cannot continue. When using the Cross Platform Disk I can see the image but can't find/see the destination drive to install on. What do I need to do to "initialise/see/activate" the actual drive I want to use for the image?
     
  2. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,833
    try clonezilla, or Terabyte Image for Windows. CZ is free, IFW costs close to nothing.
     
  3. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,156
    I will try alternatives but at the moment I am concerned that the issue is not with the program but with me missing a step in preparing the new server drives. I have done rebuilds before but always on the same drive or similar hardware.
     
  4. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    141
    Seems like SP5 recovery disks are missing some required hardware drivers for your new system.I am not familiar with SP but you have to either inject drivers or you need to make a recovery disk on the new system hardware after installing all drivers.
     
  5. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,156
    As for the drivers, yes that's my assumption too but I am not sure which driver is missing or how to inject it at this stage. Regarding installing SP on the new hardware, I had planned to "start" this with an image. At this point I would not be able to install any new software or old software as the server is not "runnning"yet. The harddrives are 'virgin'. Tryhing my procedure on another spare server we have - one generation closer to the existing one, there was no issue with applying the image. I am now trying to see if either Macrium or Terabyte will come with the relevant drivers out of the box to get started.
     
  6. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Posts:
    141
    Which windows is being used as base for SP recovery image? You should use win 10 RS4 based recovery image as it is most likely to have all the drivers for newest drivers(e.g.win 7 does not support usb ports on latest chipsets like ryzen or 8th gen intel without installing usb drivers from mobo manufacturer site).
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.