ShadowProtect Desktop V3.5 released

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Creer, Sep 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
  2. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Had not been able to run earlier version of SP on my Thinkpad T400 but now with 3.5, it works! Back again to my favorite imaging app.

    Gary
     
  3. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I am not currently a ShadowProtect user but I have one question (for future reference):

    1. What do you get for the $16 Annual Maintenance Fee?

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  4. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    As long as your maintenance is current, you get ALL upgrades free of charge (particularly applies to major releases, e.g. from 3.x to 4.x) as well as technical support via phone or email.
     
  5. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    Trying out the full version isn't easy for a home user. Advice has been to request an evaluation to be able to get the recovery media.

    The form you have to fill in includes Job Title and Organization that need to be completed. In my case, neither apply, but you can't submit anything until all fields marked with * are entered.

    So what's the point in all that? They do say at the top of that page it's an enterprise product, but home users can download the desktop edition from the link provided. However, from reading posts here, it doesn't include the recovery element. It doesn't make sense not to provide that to test when evaluating the product, but the evaluation request form seems more geared towards the corporate market.
     
  6. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Well, 16 bucks is not free to me :D .
     
  7. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    Yes, but without the mainenance deal, if you want a major upgrade you would have to purchase it.
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    You can easily fill out the evaluation form. Many have. As to the point of it. They have to keep track of the number of recovery environments they give out, as they have to pay Microsoft a fee for each one.

    Desktop version they don't have that issue, so you can just download it. Just have no restore capability.
     
  9. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I knew that Peter. I was just venting a little frustration at money sucking ploys like "For only $29.99 per month you can make all the long distant calls in the USA for FREE!"

    SourMilk out
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I want to ask two Qs.

    1- Can u restore an image to a smaller partition?
    2- If u image on sector by sector basis, does SP able to flush out empty space while imaging?

    These two features are there in ATI.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,048
    Hi Aigle

    On no.1, I believe it may now be implemented, but even before it was doable. When I had to break my Raid array and run on one drive, I was essentially restoring to a smaller partition. What I just did was take the partition on the raid array, and shrink it until it was less then half size, and then image it.

    Not sure what you mean on no. 2.

    And yes there are a lot of features in ATI not in SP, to which I say thankfully.

    Pete
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.