ShadowProtect - Desktop Edition [$67]

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by savalnc, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. savalnc

    savalnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    52
  2. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Too expensive still, although the product itself is decent for imaging Windows OS.
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is it for one year only, and does this app has any significant drawbacks like RollBack RX for example?
     
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    To my knowledge, it is an imaging program, albeit fairly quick in its functions.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,056
    It absolutely is an imaging program. No comparison to Rollback at all. And if you need continous monitoring it's continuous incremental cannot be beat.
     
  6. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, but it's one year of maintenance, which means that licensees get all upgrades (minor and major) released within that year free of charge. Further, maintenance can be renewed annually; by keeping maintenance current, you never pay for upgrades or new releases.
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    a great program but you can do the same basic things for a lot less money. they are imo overpriced. a great program just to much $$$ again imo especially for only one computer
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Yes I agree too expensive... I paid for 2 licenses and it never misses a restore but for my new computer I thought I'm not going to buy a third one, my imaging program that came bundled with the machine works surprisingly well.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, so the product will keep working, I guess.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,056
    You guys are correct, and they have deliberately priced it that way. If you can't figure out why PM me.

    Pete
     
  11. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    I´m not going to buy this, but out of curiosity I clicked on "Add to cart". The window froze in a washed-out mode, no message. The same happened in Firefox and IE. Then I tried with Tor and the page to enter my info to create the account appeared. Perhaps because of my location (not in the US)?
     
  12. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    It will keep working and you get all updates and upgrades as long as maintenance is current (i.e., no charge to upgrade to the latest version).
     
  13. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Something else, probably. It worked okay for me with Firefox (Cyberfox) and IE but hung (absolutely froze - washed out) with Chrome until I disabled uBlock.
     
  14. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    I've got a question for those of you using SP... What are the MBR-options offered during a restore?
     
  15. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,056
    Depending on what you do, you can chose to restore the mbr, restore the mbr from the image, restore a windows mbr, and I think you can even chose if it's a vista or other mbr.

    If you have deleted the partition you can chose whether or to make the partition you are restoring is active.

    Pete
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thanks.
     
  17. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Why isn't SP more popular with home-users? Is price the main deterrent? Are there any other drawbacks?
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,056
    I suspect it is the price. Also it is in someways more complex then some of the others.

    Pete
     
  19. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Yup, SP is expensive, worth it, and there really is a reason, like Peter said, PM him.
    Acadia
     
  20. JDGILL

    JDGILL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    One thing that put me off SP is that I like to have 2 separate jobs to back up the C: drive - one to an external HD one to a NAS. I don't think this is possible with SP due to the way it tracks changes for the incrementals.
     
  21. savalnc

    savalnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    52
    If you are given the option to pick one "paid" backup software for free, which one would you choose?
     
  22. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,056
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    A tossup between SP and Macrium Pro.
     
  23. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,400
    Location:
    California - USA
    Where can I get that option? :D
     
  24. savalnc

    savalnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Posts:
    52
    I usually attend booth events and get free serials (Like ShadowProtect and Symantec).
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,056

    Actually that is a no brainer. SP is $99 you can get a Macrium 4 pack for abou 50 with coupon.

    Pete