ShadowProtect Compatibility

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Ed_H, Sep 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ed_H

Ed_H Registered Member

I have been using SP for several years and would like to add and additional imaging program. Will I run in to any problems if I install Macrium Reflect or
    AX64 Time Machine along with SP? Thanks!

2. chattycathy

chattycathy Registered Member

Although I don't have both of them installed now, just a few months ago, I had ShadowProtect and Macrium Reflect installed at the same time on a Win xp system and I didn't have any problems. Now I have a Windows 7 system and have Macrium Reflect installed. When I need my Shadowprotect backups, I use the restore cd rather than installing it again. Hope this helps!

3. Ed_H

Ed_H Registered Member

Thanks...I'l give them a try together or perhaps just run ShadowProtect from the boot disk.

I am curious why you chose Macrium Reflect over ShadowProtect for your Windows 7 system.

4. silver0066

silver0066 Registered Member

Shadow Protect is NOT compatible with AX64 Time Machine at this time.

5. chattycathy

Macrium Reflect will make backups of directories that you want rather than a full backup. I like having that option. Sure I can do a copy & paste within Windows but there have been times when I would rather use my backup program instead. ShadowProtect will not do that. It has to be a full backup or incremental backup. Plus, Shadowprotect runs in the background, or at least it did, and Macrium Reflect doesn't. I apologize for being so late about replying but for some reason, I don't get emails notifying me that someone has responded to the threads that I've subscribed to. I just happened to come across it by checking this forum for recent threads.

6. aladdin

aladdin Registered Member

Very true, Macrium Reflect doesn't run any services in the background, whereas Shadow Protect does.

Best regards,

Mohamed

7. Ed_H

Ed_H Registered Member