ShadowDefender 1.1.0.314 released

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Tony, Nov 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    » Shadow Defender V1.1 Change History

    Version 1.1.0.314 - November 1, 2009
    Add: Support 64-bit OS.
    Add: Schedule SD to enter Shadow Mode on boot or not.
    Fix: Can't exit Shadow Mode when volume is full.

    :thumb:
     
  2. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I can't understand the difference with the previous version: the possibility to "Continue Shadow Mode after reboot" was already there. The new version runs fine on my Vista Ultimate32.
     
  3. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Well now you can enter shadow mode at boot without having to enter shadow mode in your current session.
     
  4. arjunned

    arjunned Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Posts:
    191
    Awesome! 64bit support! I will be testing this ASAP!
    Cheers Tony.

    P.S.: Does it support W7 BTW?
     
  5. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    It should. I 've run the beta version of it in Win7 x64 and worked fine. I don't see why the final version shouldn't support Win7.

    That's what i call a perfect support, specially considering that this is a 1 man project. At 1 week from Win7's official release, he comes up with stable versions for both x32 and x64.

    Hats off to Tony! :thumb:
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    So as not to confuse anyone, i am not Tony the developer of ShadowDefender.
    I am just a happy customer.

    Hell, i have trouble programming the video recorder :D
     
  7. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, thanks for the info.

    Installed over B 280, smoothly but....

    AVG 9 flagged "SD set up exe " as "win 32/virut". FP likely ? because

    other AVs such as Norman and Panda did not have the same feelings.
     
  8. pidbo

    pidbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Posts:
    198
    Malwarebytes and Avast Pro say no virus...probably a false positive

    I don't really understand the changes in this version though...I'm probably being a bit thick...If someone would go into greater detail I'd be much obliged.
     
  9. SafetyFirst

    SafetyFirst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Posts:
    462
    Can this new version be installed over the old one or do I have to uninstal the old version first?
     
  10. Cathoderay

    Cathoderay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    SafetyFirst,for what it is worth,I over installed the new version,with no
    problems.
    My exclusions and license info were retained nicely.

    add: The GDATA engine in HitManPro is flagging DefenderDaemon.exe.
    as malware for now.
    Also on VirusTotal the following engines hit on it.
    AntiVir,AVG,BitDefender,F-Secure,GDATA and McAfee-GW-Edition.

    This will take awhile to get sorted out.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  11. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    almost 6 months past , so few update? its so lame :mad:
     
  12. Cathoderay

    Cathoderay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    I am pretty happy with it as is.
    I sincerely hope future updates/upgrades do not include "Improvements" such as integrated AV,etc.
     
  13. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    What's lame is this style of content-free whine. It's getting old.

    Exactly what updates are you expecting? Specifically.

    The current update incorporates the addition of 64-bit OS support. I guess that's trivial enough to pull off perfectly, without the need to field test, after an hour or so or programming, right?

    Yes, being able to carry a shadow session across reboots would be a very welcome addition. Guess what, reality occasionally intrudes. It might not be that easy to pull off and maintain system stability in a situation which allows dynamic entry into shadow mode. Just a guess here. Furthermore, with the release of Win7 and the likely shift to 64 bit platforms over the next few years, 64 bit support is likely more important commercially than shadow session preservation across a restart at the moment, particularly since it was a feature set gap when compared against the competition.

    Sheesh.

    Blue
     
  14. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    If it ain't broke don't fix it. SD is easy to enable and use, and shut off as well. What more do you want? o_O
     
  15. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Okay working fine and stable here, 32 and 64.
     
  16. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    Avira AntiVir is detecting Shadow Defender's defenderdaemon.exe as a trojan. Tony has been notified and a false positive was submitted to Avira.
     
  17. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    I agree with that. And its time for that new 64bit PC. :D
     
  18. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah soon. :D
     
  19. Perman

    Perman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,160
    Hi, just for your Info:

    SD has conducted several in house beta tests between the last official release B 278 (?) up until this one. To say that no updates for 6 months is somewhat unfair to its vendor.

    I was able to d/l several testing versions such as B 280,313 thru its Chinese forum(of course, unofficial one).

    I was a DeepFreeze user, until I found this remarkable app. Perhaps still a one-man shop, but, just look at what has been accomplished as far. Actions do speak much louder than $$$$ misleading advertisements by other vendor.

    I :thumb: :thumb: SD's vendor.
     
  20. Thiggy

    Thiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Posts:
    82
    Tony repackaged the software install and afterward, as far as I can tell, there are no more false positives.

    Thanks Tony!!
     
  21. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    You can easily add it to Avira's exclusion list.
     
  22. Cathoderay

    Cathoderay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    7
    Confirmed after over install from ShadowDefender site,all clear from VirusTotal.
     
  23. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    What did you miss if you are even not a ShadowDefender user.:p

    _________________
    RollBack RX v9
    SANDBOXIE 3.40
    First Defense Isr
    comodo Firewall 560
    security rule no.1 ~>less pop ups mean less protection
    secuirty software no.1~> YOUR SKILLS
    prevention is better than the cure
    using Win Xp Pro Sp3 (not using alpha vista)
    Reply With Quote

    I applaud the stability and security that SD had offered for the past months and continues to offer:D
     
  24. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    @nanana1

    Is this a serious statement, that pop ups will leave you with more security? I understand your implications, but are you really saying more popups provide more protection? I just found it humorous that this is listed before your next statment, which is spot on.


    Absolutely - :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

    Sul.
     
  25. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    ShadowDefender 1.1.0.314 installed and running smoothly.
    One thing I did notice is the "Space used by SD" is not taking up as much space as did 1.1.0.278, which took up around 1.1 GB on startup.
    Very impressed with Shadow Defender so far and plan on a purchase when the trial is over.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.