Shadow Defender???

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Ibrad, Feb 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I am thinking about installing Shadow Defender and I have a few questions before I do.

    I have read some reports that say it can corrupt my hard drive if I do a hard shutdown in Shadow Mode, is that true?

    I got a small hard drive, does Shadow Defender take up much space while in Shadow Mode?

    How often do things escape through Shadow Mode?

    How stable is Shadow Defender?

    How heavy is Shadow Defender?
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    ShadowDefender is very safe and stable. I have kept a computer in shadow mode for a week before rebooting with no issues. I honestly cant think of anything bad about it.
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tony who makes it, also has a 30 day trial. To me on 2 laptops, one fairly old, no issues.
     
  4. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    SD is the best! No problems with it. I can't think of a reason to do a hard shut down while in Shadow Mode, but you never know I guess. I have an 80GB HD and SD uses next to nothing. I don't even think about it. :cool:
     
  5. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    I haven't heard about corruption, but I had to do hard restarts couple of times for reasons unrelated to SD and nothing bad happened.

    SD doesn't take much space.

    Nothing escapes shadow mode unless you put things in exclusion list or commit files manually.

    For me SD is stable but you may want to visit their forum to read the bug reports.

    SD is very light.
     
  6. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    Not to be too much of a ShadowDefender FanBoi,but for one reason or another I have had several hard shutdowns,with no hard disk problems at all.*
    Shadow defender for me is ROCK,GRANITE,stable.
    DefenderDaemon,the only ShadowDefefender process running,is at 596k,
    (three hours after boot,in ShadowMode)
    by task manager,on my XPSp3 install.

    Someone else can describe how ShadowDefender uses disk space,(out of of my Skill set),but some of the problems I had with Returnil 2008,trying to run a full scan with Avira 9,installed in Returnil protected mode,do not occur with ShadowDefender.
    How ever it manages Disk use,seems to work pretty well for me.


    *At least one caused by a a power outage in a violent nighttime Texas thunderstorm.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 21, 2010
  7. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,279
    Location:
    UK
    I endorse all of the previous comments about the lightness, reliability, and stability of Shadow Defender. I too have done hard restarts in Shadow Mode with no adverse consequences. The experience of others is only a guideline though and you will need to try the program for yourself, as all systems are different.

    My main reason for posting is that I noticed you have Panda Cloud Antivirus in your signature. There isn't a problem running Shadow Defender in conjunction with Panda Cloud Antivirus, but what I found on my system is that entering Shadow Mode doesn't work properly when Panda's real-time protection is enabled. If this happens, all you have to do is to stop the antivirus before entering Shadow Mode, enter Shadow Mode with the antivirus stopped, then start the antivirus again once you are in Shadow Mode.
     
  8. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    Never happened to me with SD, DeepFreeze, ShadowUser Pro. A hard shutdown is equivalent to a new reboot into normal mode.

    Used space will inevitably increase if one remains in shadowmode for long periods. I wouldn't recommend to stay in shadow mode for more than 4-5 hours for privacy reasons when browsing (a reboot and a new session is the best way to kill anything that might have temporarily infiltrated your system). SD will notify you if disk space is running out. As trjam mentioned, he kept SD in shadow mode for a week.

    Never. If it happens, it means the virtual system might have been defeated by a specific malware.

    On my two machines (Vista/XP Pro) it has never crashed.

    Very light indeed.

    Testing SD for 30 days is recommended as no application will work perfectly with every computer hardware.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2010
  9. tonyf1971

    tonyf1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    58
    just to add also works brillant under Win 7 x64 :)
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    ShadowDefender has been very stable,very light and has worked perfectly without any problems here on Xp Home. Sense adding SD, I never surf without being in shadowmode. Brilliant piece of software.
     
  11. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I've had no issues with SD under Win 7 64-bit here. And I have intentionally infected my system with a lot of malware, rebooted and all gone like it had never been there.
     
  12. sired

    sired Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Quote: How often do things escape through Shadow Mode?

    Osaban: Never. If it happens, it means the virtual system might have been defeated by a specific malware.


    on Sandboxie forum, if the trial pack is registered in Shadow Mode on reboot the info remains. By-pass?
     
  13. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    Guys,maybe this needs a new thread,and I have already posted on ShadowDefender Forums,but because they are new, sometimes there is a pretty good delay in reply.


    I have been in ShadowMode from the 14th of this month ,up to now.
    All reboots have been in ShadowMode.

    Today I checked my event viewer logs,and under "application,I found only
    entries for the 14th,and today.
    Thats what I expected,as i had rebooted earlier.

    Yet,when I checked under the "system" button of event viewer,I found
    entries for each day since the 14th.
    Should these not have been removed after each re-boot?

    XP pro Sp3

    thanks
     
  14. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Link to thread?
     
  15. sired

    sired Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Bangkok
  16. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    Sorry LoneWolf, we must have posted almost simultaneously!
     
  19. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    Compliments for 2 very helpful gentlemen !!!:D
     
  20. sired

    sired Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Bangkok
    completely agree. Last two weeks I would say most of the time has been rebooting out of SD to make changes &/or switching from User account to Admin & back & wondering if this pattern is likely to change to something more normal any time soon. After learning a little about the wonders of LUA & SRP took a look inside the mystery box & clicked on Disallowed, found myself highly restricted with no obvious way to Unrestrict, until you click Unrestricted :oops: haha (an hour online searching revealed no mention of the above easiest of remedies anywhere inc the great Microsoft itself)

    so now thinking is SD needed so much if running as LUA? How much extra protection does SD offer? I'll set up a sort of kiosk disk, well configured & cloned x2 & as signs of malfuncs manifest switch to the clone drive & make a new clone. SuRun sounds interesting but can see running into all sorts of trouble. Say, SD, Surun, LUA & clone backups, data saved online ... no incrementals. It's all in the setup I guess. Next line of attack must be SuRun & registry destructions!

    PS what's the benefit of a backup volume v. clone? Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2010
  21. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    There can be a clear benefit to having both Sandboxie, and SD. Sandboxie for everyday browsing, but when I go into a VM machine to play with nasty stuff, I turn on SD and have it shadow all the host's drives, just in case something gets out of the VM machine.
     
  22. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=238515
     
  23. sired

    sired Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    37
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Thank you for that Osaban, much clearer now.

    Question on SD ... when running as User there's no indication to me at least if SD is running or not, easy to forget if away from the machine for a while. How to check without switching to Admin? No clues in Processes...
     
  24. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    Somebody else will have to answer this question. I've tried to create a normal user account with my Vista (LUA), and SD worked normally except the folders that I had excluded on my desktop couldn't be 'seen' by SD. I went back to full Admin + UAC.
     
  25. munckman

    munckman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    100
    Ibrad,

    Virtualization type programs are fun! They can also be very effective. Shadow Defender is one that is certainly a cut above the rest.:isay: Try it... you'll like it!:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.