Settings for sandboxing Java via Sandboxie?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Hungry Man, Sep 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Wondering what settings to use. When I load up java it crashes.
     
  2. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    Java 6 or 7?
     
  3. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Java 7. I've tried giving direct access to the entire C drive just to narrow it down - still crashes.
     
  4. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    What exactly are you trying to do with Java? I know you've worked with sandboxing it before, are you doing away with the Comodo sandbox and putting it under SBIE now? What are you trying to restrict it from doing? I've got mine set to only run and access the net, I haven't fooled with restricting it further and have never had an issue.
     
  5. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Yes, I'm doing away with Comodo's manual sandbox. I may do away with Comodo entirely but we will save that for another topic =p

    I'm trying to restrict it however possible. I jus tdon't know why it's crashing.

    I haven't restricted it AT ALL yet. Fresh sandbox. It has FULL access to the entire c:\ and I haven't added any start/run or internet restrictions.
     
  6. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Is it the "java has been cancelled" (not quite what the actual message says, but you get the gist) error? That's been happening to me for the last couple of releases, but it's very random and I have no clue what causes it. If it's something different, I still don't know. Experimental protection maybe? If you have restrictions on run/internet with other programs in that sandbox, you have to add the java processes too, or it won't run at all. Iirc, you need java.exe, jp2lau, and jp2launcher allowed to run and access the net (I use Java 7). Other than that, I just don't know, Hungry, sorry.
     
  7. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    No, the plugin just flat out crashes. I have no restrictions on it.

    Are you using Chrome or Firefox?

    EDIT: I'll have to use Comodo in the meantime.
     
  8. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543

    Firefox.
     
  9. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    It is possibly a Chrome issue.

    I'll just have to use Comodo.
     
  10. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Have you popped over to the SBIE forums? Java is still outside the sandbox of Chrome, isn't it?
     
  11. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Yes it is. Chrome does nothing to sandbox Java that I know of and I'm not sandboxing Chrome with Sandboxie.
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    If Java is installed on your system, when you run your browser on either
    a default/restricted sandbox, Java should work when called upon. If the
    browser is run on a restricted sandbox, allowing Javas processes to
    start/run/connect is all that's needed.

    Bo
     
  13. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I know. I don't want to sandbox Chrome.
     
  14. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Wait, so you're running Chrome outside, but you've set up a box for Java? So basically when you surf to a site that needs it, you're wanting Sandboxie to run Java, but not the browser? I wasn't aware SBIE could even work that way. Consider me stupid when I say this, because frankly I am stupid when it comes to processes and how they interact, but wouldn't that cause a conflict, since, I thought Java has to interact with the browser?

    This is me just tossing guesses out there.
     
  15. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    It works when I sandbox JUST Java with Comodo and not Chrome as well. If I sandbox both Chrome and Java I get problems.
     
  16. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Okay, that's weird. When I did run Chrome, (really not that long ago, v12) I ran them both in the same box conflict-free. I have no idea what is wrong.
     
  17. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I can run them both in a sandbox no problem. I don't want Chrome sandboxed though.
     
  18. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    You just said above when you sandbox them both, you get problems. Either I'm too tired and am not reading you right, or you're becoming forgetful :p Either way, I just don't know what to tell you about it. I've no clue why Java would be acting up like that.
     
  19. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    No no, with Comodo I can only sandbox Java. If I sandbox both (each gets a sandbox) it breaks. With SandboxieI can sandbox both in one sandbox and it's fine.
     
  20. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Ahh, so Comodo is acting up then..perhaps, lol.
     
  21. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sandboxie is working as its supposed to.

    If you have Java installed on a sandbox(Java sandbox) , when you run
    your browser out of the sandbox, Java wont do nothing.

    Bo
     
  22. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    >_> no, Comodo isn't involved haha. I was just saying that I'm going to use comodo until I figure out why sandboxie is broken since Comodo works.
     
  23. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    How does Comodo do it then?
     
  24. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Okay :D So we're back to my thoughts on Java needing to interact with the browser, and Sandboxie preventing that. I'll either learn a good deal in this thread, or I'll get a headache :D
     
  25. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Comodo and Sandboxie work differently.

    Bo
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.